19 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fuelset - Sounds Of A Dying Seagull Album Review

27 Jul 2012 // A review by Asmith

This is one of those albums that I enjoy more and more every time I listen. Theres just so much going on here but in this case it is very much a good thing, this is one of those few bands that can actually make it work. I have listened to the album about half a dozen times already and I keep finding new and interesting things that I have missed every other time, it just keeps pulling me in.

First time I listened I got drawn in by the vocal harmonies, and they use more than just one. If you are looking for cliched 3rds and 6ths go pick up a copy of Miley Cyrus or some other such dribble.

Second time I got drawn in by the bass wah. Yes you read correctly, they use a bass wah in metal.

The third time I tried to take a step back and listen to it all as a whole, and I got thrown around in a whirlwind of influences and styles that mesh together like a well trained assault team laying waste to my mind and ears, far too many influences and styles to even bother listing on here, and it all flows together so so well.

It's not often that something like this comes along that's just SO different to what's currently going on, and I have to admit I appreciate the change. There are just so many bands out there playing it safe withing their musical genres, and that's not to say that safe is a bad thing, but I will always be more partial to safety within context- use a condom when having sex, go bareback when writing music. Fuelset went bareback on this album for sure, hell, they didn't even use lube but it's a good kinda pain and I'm already sitting here waiting for the next one!

Sounds of a Dying Seagull
View Track Listing
 

About Fuelset

In mid 2005 Joe Murdie and Jason Anderson fresh out of the ashes of Attica and in search for something new, came across Darrin Floyd and Tonie Pohatu, and the uncompromising and powerful all original metal outfit Fuelset was born.

Fuelset played their first live show together at Hysteria on 22 October 2005. Since then numerous live shows throughout New Zealand and Australia, as well as constantly writing new material, has seen the band go from strength to strength.

In February 2007 Fuelset entered York St Studios NZ, with engineer Andrew Buckton, to record two new tracks, 'Breakdown' and 'The Everchanging', which were mastered in Australia at Studio 301.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fuelset

Releases

Sounds of a Dying Seagull
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Tear It Down
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem