27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

November Zulu - No More Fun And Games EP Review

16 May 2012 // A review by Asmith

Upon receiving this CD for review I was expecting to hear yet another cliché kiwi “rock” band... You guys know what I mean, that unfortunate kiwi sound that could be described as the deformed love child of pop rock and indie.

But to my pleasant surprise I was made to eat my own doubts upon hearing November Zulu’s first single “Adrenaline” which caught my attention straight away with catchy groove based riffs and clean pop rock vocals, not to mention actual vocal harmonies rather than the usual vocal overdubs.

The surprises kept on coming as I continued to listen to the album hearing the versatility of their musicianship going from rocking grooves to slow chilled out tunes almost rock ballad in nature.

The digital sound on some of the guitar tracks helps to give it a more modern sound that you can’t help but nod your head too, and the vocal harmonies throughout show a refinement that only experience can give.

It is refreshing to hear something different come out of the NZ rock scene for a change and I will definitely be keeping an ear out to see what they come up with next!

 

About November Zulu

Finding time between laughing has been November Zulu's biggest battle thus far. After a flying start several years ago, the five mates from school have had far too much fun taking the piss out of each other to let a pesky album get in the way.

Since their first single 'Deceit' and the release of 'Second to None' - their latest video & single featuring Dane Rumble - we've heard their brand of rock music being used through various media from Performance Car TV to the recent Sky Sport coverage of the All Whites World Cup qualifying campaign. They're now back to finish what they started and have been in the recording studio with award-winning engineer Andrew Buckton (Studio 203).

2010's NZ Music Month saw the Zulu boys return to The Kings Arms, before heading straight back into the studio to put the finishing touches on their full-length debut album 'Black Yellow White'.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for November Zulu

Releases

No More Fun And Games
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Black Yellow White
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem