4 Mar 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Plagueditch - EP Review: Save Me A Spot In Hell

06 Feb 2024 // A review by Liam Davis

New Zealand is having a hard time being a peaceful picturesque country when we keep exporting some of the most genre-bending, crushing metal to date; and Plagueditch dropping their debut release; does not help this -

- Mind you this is an amazing problem to have.

Save Me A Spot In Hell blends the brutality of dark rock and the percussive precision of industrial metal- for an amalgamation of evil and foot, tapping, headbanging appreciated goodness.

The main standouts for this release are the title track and In The Firelight. The title track Save Me... A Spot In Hell draws the listener into an unending slew of engineered drums and muddied guitar riffs that burn unholy frequencies into the heads of those in earshot.

The two tracks that follow continue the trend almost seamlessly, though difficult to establish the difference between them; regardless the second to last track ‘In the Firelight’ switches up the method and gives us a mix of chaos and order- smooth tremolo picking brings us into the industrial ‘zombie-esque’ soundscape one last time.

There are a lot of fun things in this track, subtleties, and creature comforts that make the whole listen immensely satisfying for a metal fan. With all said and done, while the EP has some mixing issues that make the vocals sound harsher than intended; I feel as though it adds a much more underground feel to the music, despite the crisp, over-engineered sounds of modern metal, it makes this release stand out amongst others.

I'm very excited to see where this talented group ends up.

 

About Plagueditch

Save me… a spot in hell!
Plagueditch, a chaotic industrial Dark-rock/metal band from Aotearoa, New Zealand. The experimental project of Janick Panic in his quest to create an unholy mesh of evil noise rock, influenced by the likes of Danzig, White Zombie, Ministry, Prong, Skumlove, and Venom.

"My aim was to create a chaotic soundscape with the heavy riffage and vocal tendencies of Ministry , Prong, and Rob Zombies projects, mixed with Danzig 5. I wanted a chaotic, drilling, rhythmic-pounding, blow-your-speakers noise scape, with heavy guitars, drums and distorted vocals burried in a sea of distortion and violence. I think I achieved that".

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Plagueditch

Releases

Save Me A Spot In Hell
Year: 2023
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Liam Davis

Infinity Ritual - EP Review: II
02 Nov 2023 // by Liam Davis
The New Plymouth-based stoner groove metal group Infinity Ritual has put on quite the show for us here. Their new EP II is an experiment, if nothing more; a show of catchy 'metallised' Arctic Monkeys' riffs bootstrapped with addictive grooves and an ever-changing atmosphere is definitely the pinnacle of underground music in NZ.
Read More...
Model Home - Album Review: ...And Nobody Made A Sound
12 Sep 2023 // by Liam Davis
Model Home’s new album wastes no time opening the listener into their soundscape in ...And Nobody Made A Sound; The new album teeming with swinging beats and sparkling guitar parts as well as a solid voice that empowers and uplifts the listener.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Big Fan, Auckland - 29/07/2023
30 Jul 2023 // by Liam Davis
Crooked Royals set a precedent for Auckland home shows last night, Packing a sold-out crowd into an intimate venue, Big Fan, in the sleepy suburb of Morningside. Each supporting act brought in what felt like a puzzle piece into what Crooked Royals’ soundscape is, the venue-shattering line-up of Stacked, All I Seek, and Finger Tight opening for the aforementioned powerhouse act.
Read More...
Darktide - EP Review: No One, Nowhere, Nothing
24 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
At first glance, you’d never think quiet little New Zealand would be capable of exporting such a brutal act as Darktide. Their new EP No One, Nowhere, Nothing is exactly that: Brutal, unrelenting, and evil.
Read More...
Dear Antler - Single Review: Sweet Little Worm
17 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
Before today, occult rock was a very alien concept to me, but upon hearing the brand new Dear Antler song, Sweet Little Worm, I can confidently say, "It does what it says on the box".Sweet Little Worm is an atmospheric, slow-burning, and dark track that encompasses many feelings and vibes, and positively the type of song you'd have playing whilst conjuring your innermost urges to *Not* summon a demon in your bedroom.
Read More...
Allophones - Single Review: Eyeball
21 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
Dunedin trio The Allophones are bringing back the Sex Pistols era of punk into a modern society that desperately needs a rebellious spirit.Their newest track Eyeball is a solid presentation with plenty of differing sections - from clean to hard-hitting, head banging riffs and a dynamic range of vocals all densely packed into this 3-and-a-half-minute demonstration.
Read More...
ISLA - Single Review: Overthinking
15 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
In the uncertainty of the world around us; Isla brings us serenity.The voice, the gentle strumming guitar, and calming hum of the bass feels peaceful but also bittersweet.
Read More...
Magnalith - EP Review: Oblivion
04 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
Every so often, a musical effort comes along that reinvents the wheel- Magnalith, I believe - has done that. Oblivion is a beautiful cacophony of aggression and melancholy.
Read More...
View All Articles By Liam Davis

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem