27 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Infinity Ritual - EP Review: II

02 Nov 2023 // A review by Liam Davis

The New Plymouth-based stoner groove metal group Infinity Ritual has put on quite the show for us here. Their new EP II is an experiment, if nothing more; a show of catchy 'metallised' Arctic Monkeys' riffs bootstrapped with addictive grooves and an ever-changing atmosphere is definitely the pinnacle of underground music in NZ.

Immediately I can say I (and hopefully others will say the same) love that every track has a different feel, idea, or vibe. What starts out as a clear doom/stoner effort slowly evolves over the 4 tracks, with lyrics tackling mortality and humanity in this tapestry of muddied guitar riffs.

The closer track Stones definitely embodies the EP as a whole. While it is over 18 minutes long with several sections, key, and time signature changes - I could not bring myself to stop listening, it’s as if the song itself was drawing me in, just awaiting the cataclysm of the band to crash down on me from the ethereal sounds, or for the chaos to fade into a Deafheaven-eqsue shoegaze.

This is why I call this release an experiment; there are multiple genres at play here - all while under the metal umbrella. Some of the changes can be jarring but I can applaud these guys for breathing some light into an oversaturated genre.

All in all, I highly enjoyed listening to this release, and hope others find it as appealing and interesting as I have.

 

About Infinity Ritual

Riffs + Groove + Volume = Infinity Ritual. Groove Metal, Stoner Rock, Doom all mixed together to create something different and hard to define. Infinity Ritual is a three-piece New Plymouth band who have been creating and recording over the past two years. The debut self titled EP was released on July 29th 2022 on Vinyl, CD and Streaming services. The first track, I'm Gone was released on Friday 13th May, 2022. There is studio time booked for the next recordings early in 2023 at Rhythm Ace.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Infinity Ritual

Releases

II
Year: 2023
Type: EP
Infinity Ritual
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Liam Davis

Plagueditch - EP Review: Save Me A Spot In Hell
06 Feb 2024 // by Liam Davis
New Zealand is having a hard time being a peaceful picturesque country when we keep exporting some of the most genre-bending, crushing metal to date; and Plagueditch dropping their debut release; does not help this -- Mind you this is an amazing problem to have.Save Me A Spot In Hell blends the brutality of dark rock and the percussive precision of industrial metal- for an amalgamation of evil and foot, tapping, headbanging appreciated goodness.
Read More...
Model Home - Album Review: ...And Nobody Made A Sound
12 Sep 2023 // by Liam Davis
Model Home’s new album wastes no time opening the listener into their soundscape in ...And Nobody Made A Sound; The new album teeming with swinging beats and sparkling guitar parts as well as a solid voice that empowers and uplifts the listener.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Big Fan, Auckland - 29/07/2023
30 Jul 2023 // by Liam Davis
Crooked Royals set a precedent for Auckland home shows last night, Packing a sold-out crowd into an intimate venue, Big Fan, in the sleepy suburb of Morningside. Each supporting act brought in what felt like a puzzle piece into what Crooked Royals’ soundscape is, the venue-shattering line-up of Stacked, All I Seek, and Finger Tight opening for the aforementioned powerhouse act.
Read More...
Darktide - EP Review: No One, Nowhere, Nothing
24 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
At first glance, you’d never think quiet little New Zealand would be capable of exporting such a brutal act as Darktide. Their new EP No One, Nowhere, Nothing is exactly that: Brutal, unrelenting, and evil.
Read More...
Dear Antler - Single Review: Sweet Little Worm
17 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
Before today, occult rock was a very alien concept to me, but upon hearing the brand new Dear Antler song, Sweet Little Worm, I can confidently say, "It does what it says on the box".Sweet Little Worm is an atmospheric, slow-burning, and dark track that encompasses many feelings and vibes, and positively the type of song you'd have playing whilst conjuring your innermost urges to *Not* summon a demon in your bedroom.
Read More...
Allophones - Single Review: Eyeball
21 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
Dunedin trio The Allophones are bringing back the Sex Pistols era of punk into a modern society that desperately needs a rebellious spirit.Their newest track Eyeball is a solid presentation with plenty of differing sections - from clean to hard-hitting, head banging riffs and a dynamic range of vocals all densely packed into this 3-and-a-half-minute demonstration.
Read More...
ISLA - Single Review: Overthinking
15 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
In the uncertainty of the world around us; Isla brings us serenity.The voice, the gentle strumming guitar, and calming hum of the bass feels peaceful but also bittersweet.
Read More...
Magnalith - EP Review: Oblivion
04 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
Every so often, a musical effort comes along that reinvents the wheel- Magnalith, I believe - has done that. Oblivion is a beautiful cacophony of aggression and melancholy.
Read More...
View All Articles By Liam Davis

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem