16 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Allophones - Single Review: Eyeball

21 May 2023 // A review by Liam Davis

Dunedin trio The Allophones are bringing back the Sex Pistols era of punk into a modern society that desperately needs a rebellious spirit.

Their newest track Eyeball is a solid presentation with plenty of differing sections - from clean to hard-hitting, head banging riffs and a dynamic range of vocals all densely packed into this 3-and-a-half-minute demonstration.

The video counterpart is definitely the most interesting part of this release; a 3D animated dystopian adventure with an eye-catching artsy style and lots of jarring, cyberpunk visuals that perfectly complements the style of music.

There is a story unfolding before us - a concept embedded into this band that has drawn me in; and with luck, should draw in many prospective listeners.

All in all, there is a lot to love in this release - it's a very fleshed-out performance and expert mixing and mastering.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Allophones.

Other Reviews By Liam Davis

AOSI - EP Review: Prima Materia
18 Apr 2024 // by Liam Davis
You may never call AOSI boring.I listened to this EP: Prima Materia (Latin: First Matter) in my car while on a lunch break and I can say it's the most thought provoking, interesting and creative effort I've seen come out of the NZ music scene this far.
Read More...
Plagueditch - EP Review: Save Me A Spot In Hell
06 Feb 2024 // by Liam Davis
New Zealand is having a hard time being a peaceful picturesque country when we keep exporting some of the most genre-bending, crushing metal to date; and Plagueditch dropping their debut release; does not help this -- Mind you this is an amazing problem to have.Save Me A Spot In Hell blends the brutality of dark rock and the percussive precision of industrial metal- for an amalgamation of evil and foot, tapping, headbanging appreciated goodness.
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: II
02 Nov 2023 // by Liam Davis
The New Plymouth-based stoner groove metal group Infinity Ritual has put on quite the show for us here. Their new EP II is an experiment, if nothing more; a show of catchy 'metallised' Arctic Monkeys' riffs bootstrapped with addictive grooves and an ever-changing atmosphere is definitely the pinnacle of underground music in NZ.
Read More...
Model Home - Album Review: ...And Nobody Made A Sound
12 Sep 2023 // by Liam Davis
Model Home’s new album wastes no time opening the listener into their soundscape in ...And Nobody Made A Sound; The new album teeming with swinging beats and sparkling guitar parts as well as a solid voice that empowers and uplifts the listener.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Big Fan, Auckland - 29/07/2023
30 Jul 2023 // by Liam Davis
Crooked Royals set a precedent for Auckland home shows last night, Packing a sold-out crowd into an intimate venue, Big Fan, in the sleepy suburb of Morningside. Each supporting act brought in what felt like a puzzle piece into what Crooked Royals’ soundscape is, the venue-shattering line-up of Stacked, All I Seek, and Finger Tight opening for the aforementioned powerhouse act.
Read More...
Darktide - EP Review: No One, Nowhere, Nothing
24 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
At first glance, you’d never think quiet little New Zealand would be capable of exporting such a brutal act as Darktide. Their new EP No One, Nowhere, Nothing is exactly that: Brutal, unrelenting, and evil.
Read More...
Dear Antler - Single Review: Sweet Little Worm
17 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
Before today, occult rock was a very alien concept to me, but upon hearing the brand new Dear Antler song, Sweet Little Worm, I can confidently say, "It does what it says on the box".Sweet Little Worm is an atmospheric, slow-burning, and dark track that encompasses many feelings and vibes, and positively the type of song you'd have playing whilst conjuring your innermost urges to *Not* summon a demon in your bedroom.
Read More...
ISLA - Single Review: Overthinking
15 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
In the uncertainty of the world around us; Isla brings us serenity.The voice, the gentle strumming guitar, and calming hum of the bass feels peaceful but also bittersweet.
Read More...
View All Articles By Liam Davis

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem