28 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Crooked Royals - Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Big Fan, Auckland - 29/07/2023

30 Jul 2023 // A review by Liam Davis

Crooked Royals set a precedent for Auckland home shows last night, Packing a sold-out crowd into an intimate venue, Big Fan, in the sleepy suburb of Morningside. Each supporting act brought in what felt like a puzzle piece into what Crooked Royals’ soundscape is, the venue-shattering line-up of Stacked, All I Seek, and Finger Tight opening for the aforementioned powerhouse act.

The night kicked off with the long haired melodic hardcore act Stacked; who brought their piece of aggression and groove heavy breakdowns that got the crowd moving. They utilised the small stage space well - even when the two guitarists Leaf and Benji jumped into the crowd during one of the last songs. Overall, I liked how well the band weaved their melodic breaks and leads into the heavy chugs and breakdowns, making them enjoyable to watch - setting off some small, violent mosh pits in their wake.

Next up was the Wellington-based All I Seek; a band I’d not personally heard of before, but was pleasantly surprised by; they brought in pieces of catchy and technical riffs and clean singing, and although they didn't manage to create much moshing, they certainly held us in a trance with lead vocalist James' ‘fresh off an episode of the voice’ vocal performance - giving us some pop-centric hooks along with thundering sounds of chugging riffs. Easily the most memorable piece of their set was when they invited the Crooked Royals’ vocalists Lee and Christian to assist in their track The Bay, resulting in the classic vocalist banter we’ve come to love at CR gigs; but also a harmony-led performance between the temporary 7-piece band.

On the next act we had up-and-coming stars Finger Tight; whose stage presence, led by vocalist Red, was the final piece we needed - the crowd went nuts for this band, singing along, opening up wall pits, and getting everyone moving. I especially enjoyed the mix of punk-esque and hardcore segments they played, I was pleased to hear such diversity and range. I also loved the matching uniforms they donned on stage- baseball shirts with pink lettering and stripes, definitely made it seem like these guys were like a family, and they made us all feel that way, as they burned through their set, working up sweats and interacting with the crowd.

And by these powers combined, we had Crooked Royals to end the night. Finger Tight's drummer Matt was filling in on guitar while bassist Conor was M.I.A - Matt, unfortunately, broke a string in the first song, leading us into an unplanned intermission in which Christian attempted to salvage by performing the fated Peanut Bar rap - a reference to an episode of Community, which only a few seemed to grasp. Despite this, we all had quite a fun time before carrying on without losing anyone in the audience, which clearly showcased the gravitas these guys have on crowds.

With this, Crooked Royals carried on to have a funny, emotional, and aggressive set - playing songs off their 2022 album Quarter Life Daydream - the songs Counterfeit and Copacetic had the most effect on the crowds and were played back to back as we all moshed the night away. The emotional Between You and I was played second to last, a song (which I did not know) was about guitarist Jake Andrews’ wife, a sweet emotional piece of music in which we all held our phone flashlights above - making quite the atmosphere for such a beautiful song. They ended the night with a throwback to Rumination - as a way of showing that the Quarter Life Daydream run may be over, but now it's time for the band to move on to new material.

Between the last few Crooked Royals gigs I have attended in the past, this one clearly showed these guys bringing their A-Game to the table, never missing a beat or losing the audience in the slew of technical onslaughts and wide mosh pits; as it goes to show that Crooked Royals is an essential live performance for the average NZ underground goer.


Photo Credit: Joe Photography
Crooked Royals Gallery
Finger Tight Gallery
All I Seek Gallery
Stacked Gallery

 

About Crooked Royals

Crooked Royals unearth harmony from unpredictability. The quintet is Christian Carstensen (clean vocals), Lee Mackley (heavy vocals), Jake Andrews (guitar), Keane Gilles (drums), and Conor Lawson (bass). Infusing metalcore with moments of head-spinning off-kilter prog, alternative melodies, and even nocturnal trap R&B, the band switch lanes seamlessly and smoothly.

They bob and weave past boundaries with a deft and dynamic approach. After racking up millions of streams independently and touring with various genre heavyweights, they perfect this vision on their full-length debut album, Quarter Life Daydream out through esteemed label 3DOT Recordings.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Crooked Royals

Releases

Quarter Life Day Dream
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Rumination
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Intertwine
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Liam Davis

Plagueditch - EP Review: Save Me A Spot In Hell
06 Feb 2024 // by Liam Davis
New Zealand is having a hard time being a peaceful picturesque country when we keep exporting some of the most genre-bending, crushing metal to date; and Plagueditch dropping their debut release; does not help this -- Mind you this is an amazing problem to have.Save Me A Spot In Hell blends the brutality of dark rock and the percussive precision of industrial metal- for an amalgamation of evil and foot, tapping, headbanging appreciated goodness.
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: II
02 Nov 2023 // by Liam Davis
The New Plymouth-based stoner groove metal group Infinity Ritual has put on quite the show for us here. Their new EP II is an experiment, if nothing more; a show of catchy 'metallised' Arctic Monkeys' riffs bootstrapped with addictive grooves and an ever-changing atmosphere is definitely the pinnacle of underground music in NZ.
Read More...
Model Home - Album Review: ...And Nobody Made A Sound
12 Sep 2023 // by Liam Davis
Model Home’s new album wastes no time opening the listener into their soundscape in ...And Nobody Made A Sound; The new album teeming with swinging beats and sparkling guitar parts as well as a solid voice that empowers and uplifts the listener.
Read More...
Darktide - EP Review: No One, Nowhere, Nothing
24 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
At first glance, you’d never think quiet little New Zealand would be capable of exporting such a brutal act as Darktide. Their new EP No One, Nowhere, Nothing is exactly that: Brutal, unrelenting, and evil.
Read More...
Dear Antler - Single Review: Sweet Little Worm
17 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
Before today, occult rock was a very alien concept to me, but upon hearing the brand new Dear Antler song, Sweet Little Worm, I can confidently say, "It does what it says on the box".Sweet Little Worm is an atmospheric, slow-burning, and dark track that encompasses many feelings and vibes, and positively the type of song you'd have playing whilst conjuring your innermost urges to *Not* summon a demon in your bedroom.
Read More...
Allophones - Single Review: Eyeball
21 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
Dunedin trio The Allophones are bringing back the Sex Pistols era of punk into a modern society that desperately needs a rebellious spirit.Their newest track Eyeball is a solid presentation with plenty of differing sections - from clean to hard-hitting, head banging riffs and a dynamic range of vocals all densely packed into this 3-and-a-half-minute demonstration.
Read More...
ISLA - Single Review: Overthinking
15 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
In the uncertainty of the world around us; Isla brings us serenity.The voice, the gentle strumming guitar, and calming hum of the bass feels peaceful but also bittersweet.
Read More...
Magnalith - EP Review: Oblivion
04 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
Every so often, a musical effort comes along that reinvents the wheel- Magnalith, I believe - has done that. Oblivion is a beautiful cacophony of aggression and melancholy.
Read More...
View All Articles By Liam Davis

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem