24 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Catherine Bullock + Danica Bryant + Jeline @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/07/2023

Gig Review: Catherine Bullock + Danica Bryant + Jeline @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/07/2023

13 Jul 2023 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
These three artists brought something divinely emotional to Valhalla on Wednesday night. Each of these Wellington-based artists had something to say and a lot of friends to say it to.

It was Catherine Bullock to started off our night with their indie-pop arrangements and raw alternative lyrics. Catherine wrote songs from the age of 11 and now they have a collection of powerful ballads about growing up, love and heartbreak. What stood out for me was the song Keep Your Distance, and they mentioned to us that they had changed the lyrics three days prior which I found to be a bold and fun move. And when I found out that they are inspired by The Beths and Big Thief, it made a lot of sense to me. There was also a song called Petals, which was reminiscent of Hozier's song Cherry Wine. As I turned my head to the left I found there were hanging sunflowers above the bar in luminescent white lights and it seemed to align with what I was hearing. My particular favourite lyric was “Hope does more than smile at me”.

Then adding to the magnitude of this triple threat of artists was Danica Bryant. She was gritty and beautifully stormy in her songwriting. It has been said her music is “All hard guitar and pain-filled howl” (The Hook NZ). She also has a handful of EPs and Singles that exhibit her courageous sound. When she stepped onto the stage and jumped into her first song before even introducing herself, it was like she already said “You will now listen to me, Danica Bryant.” Her song Crush had a strong and honest message about the dangers of being a woman in the music industry. I felt the song held a very rare and important topic that should be talked about more. Danica also played an acoustic version of a hyperpop song called Apologise which she created in collaboration with Boy Virgo, who is another New Zealand artist.

And like a crescendo that rounded off the night, we heard from Jeline. Accompanied by her band, Jeline is known for fusing several genres like indie, RnB, gospel and hip-hop. What stood out most for me was her avid devotion to doing covers of some great popular songs including Brutal by Olivia Rodrigo and Happier Than Ever by Billie Eilish. Jeline bounced around the stage effortlessly in black pigtails under vibrant blue lights. Just like the other two artists she knew how to get the crowd's attention and sustain it. We were lucky enough to hear an upcoming single that is yet to be released called Time Stop and I believe it particularly showed Jeline’s vocal talents.

It is always a highlight for me when local music artists do a raw and honest performance. It was a treat to spend my Wednesday night listening to these three talented females. The audience engagement was so affectionate and each performer had such a lovely attitude that every one of us felt warm by the end of the night.

 

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

C. Zukey - Album Review: Stone Fruit
18 May 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sparkling new debut Stone Fruit by C. Zukey is a full-hearted reflection of feelings and a gentle sting of honest self-internalization.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Valhalla, Wellington - 11/04/2024
12 Apr 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I have seen Electric Tapestry before, last year in December at Meow and I believe the Valhalla venue autographs the metal/rock band’s strength just a bit more. The scenery of the music is not necessarily that deep for those who enjoy the quiver of rock, but it was something I noticed.
Read More...
Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up
01 Feb 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light
30 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem