27 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light

30 Oct 2023 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin

The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys. The band consist of four excellent musicians with lead singer Sione Roberts, bass guitarist Tuva'a Clifton, lead guitarist James Butler, and drummer Dan McDonald. What gives the band a unique sound is their fusion of surf rock, soft rock, and funk rock. Furthermore, they have a heartwarming element of heritage by also mixing Samoan and Maori styles of music. On their new EP In the Light they have some enthralling melodies and songs that have emotional storytelling.

Don’t Walk Away is the single to celebrate the EP and the chorus is catchy with the exact elements you want from a good pop rock song. The emergence of the drums holds its rhythm extraordinarily to match the beat of each guitar strum. As well as some echoes of background vocals that add depth to the sound and create a spacey atmosphere.

In the Light has a 70’s disco undertone with a mix of classic rock, like it belongs in an underground bar with extensive music enthusiasts. I believe what establishes the power of this song is the rhythm that the guitars seem to guide.

My favourite song from the trio is Revenge. The narrative and perspective share a trail of thoughts and feelings. “What a pity, what a shame…why I did this to you, I don’t understand.” I’m particularly captivated by the robust intro which is then followed by a tone change to flow into the lyrics.

The lyrics of all three songs are distinct and very palatable. It leaves room for the opportunity for the band to develop a full album. Possibly in moments a restrictive formula was used for their rock sound, but there’s a clear itch to be all the rarer in their sound and lyrics. Their talent paints their sound with the ability to unite techniques from the rock genre. I can see these guys having plans for the future with great music projects and hopefully an album soon.

 

About Junior Junior

Junior Junior is an upcoming Auckland four-piece band. With influences ranging from indie rock, to jazz, to R&B, along with a couple of nods to bands like LAB along the way; Junior Junior is sure to get you moving.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Junior Junior

Releases

In The Light
Year: 2023
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up
01 Feb 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
Gig Review: Catherine Bullock + Danica Bryant + Jeline @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/07/2023
13 Jul 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
These three artists brought something divinely emotional to Valhalla on Wednesday night. Each of these Wellington-based artists had something to say and a lot of friends to say it to.
Read More...
No Reply - Single Review: Departure Lounge
11 Jul 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
No Reply has mixed an enchanting rhythm that honours classic hip-hop and Reggae. The Tauranga-based band has released their debut single Departure Lounge which is not only funky but inquisitive.
Read More...
Marianne Leigh - Single Review: I Don't Care
23 Jun 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I Don't Care, the new single by Marianne Leigh, takes pop punk and makes it celestial. I love it when a song takes a concept and can stretch the emotion it evokes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem