27 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up

01 Feb 2024 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island. Marmalade Skies guitar licks that are surfy, and groovy with a slight angst. Marmalade Skies have been growing since 2019 in the urban city of Tauranga and in 2021 they released their first EP Nautical Nectar. Those to be held accountable as Band Members are Ethan (vocals, guitar) Robbo (bass, vocals) Calum (guitar) and Jake (drums). It’s from the likes of Lime Cordiale, Boy Pablo, and Backseat Lovers are their core inspirations, and from the comfort of their drummer's garage, these young Kiwis transcend Indie rock in their own stunning way. “When it comes to their sonic, the band kill it on all levels.” - Happy Mag


We are introduced to the song
Rhyme or Reason first and I imagine this song like it’s the pattern of the sun when it hits all the colours in a garden of flowers. They generated a beat with their guitars that added warmth to their significant benefit throughout the Album.

In the song This Way the tune has an underground grungy yet beach-tanned demeanour to it. With the lyrics, there was coverage that was valuable for the band's genre, but also had the opportunity to extend their lyrical style. The main chorus can be characterised with significant strength in guitar work as familiar with the rest of the songs on the Album. Guitar rhythms are the scaffolding to a good rock song and the marmalade boys know how to build their songs with high stakes without sounding constrained.

Furthermore, we have the power ballad Blame. A regretful narrative that bounces off the funk base provided by the keyboard. The main lyrics which conjure a light-hearted melancholy emotion “Yeah I’m blaming everything on you because It makes me feel good about myself” reflect optimism which is what the beat sounds like. The final section of the song provides a unique incorporation of the gentle airy sound of what seems to be waves.

Moonlight was probably my favourite song. I simply loved the chorus of “You can’t run from the moonlight” which echoes each word “Moonlight” is a creative tool to feel the mood of the song. It’s a good moody song and shows the band's scope of having variations of songs.

Their song Tears jumps into a sorrowful sound in a funky way by using a guitar beat. They show a clear ability to uphold the base of the funky beat. Similar to their song This Way, the lyrics are apparent and have a reflective pattern to them which is familiar. It shows they can mirror a good pop song's lyrical style.

What I gathered from the band Marmalade Skies and their latest Album When I Wake Up is the ability to reflect and paint emotion within their music, specifically with their sound. They are a young group from New Zealand who incorporated a local rhythm which is something to be proud of and should be shared. A recognisable prospect from hard work being put into a debut album. I imagine watching them live would be just as enthralling and there is the opportunity to do so. Tickets to their North Island tour can be purchased at undertheradar.co.nz.
 

About Marmalade Skies

Armed with an iconic kiwi vocal, groovy rhythms, and surfy guitar licks, it’s obvious Marmalade Skies are a summer playlist staple.

Drawing inspiration from the likes of Lime Cordiale, Boy Pablo, and Backseat Lovers, the indie rock band from Tauranga have been writing and recording in the drummer's garage between playing shows around the North Island since 2019.

Having supported acts like Summer Thieves, The Feelers and Lazy Ghost, the marmalade boys sure know how to put on a ripper of a show.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marmalade Skies

Releases

When I Wake Up
Year: 2024
Type: Album
Nautical Nectar
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light
30 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
Gig Review: Catherine Bullock + Danica Bryant + Jeline @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/07/2023
13 Jul 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
These three artists brought something divinely emotional to Valhalla on Wednesday night. Each of these Wellington-based artists had something to say and a lot of friends to say it to.
Read More...
No Reply - Single Review: Departure Lounge
11 Jul 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
No Reply has mixed an enchanting rhythm that honours classic hip-hop and Reggae. The Tauranga-based band has released their debut single Departure Lounge which is not only funky but inquisitive.
Read More...
Marianne Leigh - Single Review: I Don't Care
23 Jun 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I Don't Care, the new single by Marianne Leigh, takes pop punk and makes it celestial. I love it when a song takes a concept and can stretch the emotion it evokes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem