13 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

No Reply - Single Review: Departure Lounge

11 Jul 2023 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin

No Reply has mixed an enchanting rhythm that honours classic hip-hop and Reggae. The Tauranga-based band has released their debut single Departure Lounge which is not only funky but inquisitive. It’s inquisitive because the title sparked many questions for me and then I found out it has some storytelling behind it. The song sets a scene in the Wellington Airport after COVID Lockdown has ended and flights have resumed, all while a DJ is playing a set. When you listen to the horn-led hip-hop beat, you can visualise the scenario in which that level of detail shows the band's aptitude. Imagine a seemingly oblivious crowd and a DJ enjoying filling the space with some passionate vibing music, completely unbothered.

In 2022, No Reply was a cover band for all the good 90's and 2000's hits, but as practice went on and some original music shined through, their collaborative process flourished. What was supposed to be some Ska covers at parties turned into something more. A highlight in the song that stands out to me is the undertone of a pop melody with a horn section that they emphasize with great effect. In this way, it infuses hip-hop with Ska, so there's an offbeat rhythm and a walking baseline. One might wonder how they do this, and part of the answer to this is because they are a seven-piece band. With their great arrangement of instruments, they have said they are motivated by wanting to perform shows that are intended to unite people with music.

I usually question the simplification of lyrics, but in this case, it encapsulates a balance with the sound they create which is fitting and something we can revel in. This is not to discredit the lyrics that we are offered, as I mentioned before, there is strong storytelling. It’s very skilful for such a large band to balance the level of lyrics and the beat to be a well-rounded sound overall. The first two verses are in first person then the song continues into a third-person narrative. Focusing on a protagonist and a narrative in music is an open opportunity for lyrics to dive into details of thoughts and feelings.

Just looking at the band's Instagram they have many performances under their belt, I’m sure we will see this group of friends under blue stage lights again. Furthermore, I hope the band shares more of their original music because they do know how to make some captivating sounds.

 

About No Reply

No Reply is a group of friends who find joy in the music they create. They hope to inspire their kids, and other people, to find a creative outlet that connects body with soul.

Based in the vibrant region of Tauranga Moana, No Reply is a seven-piece band (at least) with a horn section!

Originally they got together to play ska covers for a party, but quickly discovered the joy of uniting different music tastes to create something new.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for No Reply

Releases

There are no releases to display for No Reply.

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

C. Zukey - Album Review: Stone Fruit
18 May 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sparkling new debut Stone Fruit by C. Zukey is a full-hearted reflection of feelings and a gentle sting of honest self-internalization.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Valhalla, Wellington - 11/04/2024
12 Apr 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I have seen Electric Tapestry before, last year in December at Meow and I believe the Valhalla venue autographs the metal/rock band’s strength just a bit more. The scenery of the music is not necessarily that deep for those who enjoy the quiver of rock, but it was something I noticed.
Read More...
Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up
01 Feb 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light
30 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem