30 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

day13n - Single Review: PA1N x SAG3

11 Jul 2023 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

Listening to Day13n’s new single PA1N x SAG3 is the stuff of nightmares, with a dark and edgy musicality underpinning the intensely whisper-screamed lyrics.

The song is divided into two halves, which nicely illustrates the forces of duality that are at play in the mind of the artist. An internal battle; to do better and to be better, but somehow still wracked with pain, fear and anger. And still pulled inexplicably into the quicksand of darkness despite their best efforts. The disappointment and confusion that follows. Such is the journey of personal growth and recovery.

The track has a lush landscape of musical elements; a blend of digitally created sounds layered with expertly played electric guitar, courtesy of producer Andrew Meyer. Day13n and Andrew came together at Parachute Studios with what they had each prepared, but left their collaboration open-ended enough to allow some room for improvisation in the moment. The use of guitar on this track is truly genius, when you realise how much of it there is, and how well it has been integrated into an electronic-based mode of production.

The results of this collaboration somewhat resemble a musical therapy session. The expression and exorcism of these pent-up negative emotions, followed by the self-reflective spoken word section over smooth warbling guitar tones, creates a calming and soothing repose.

The accompanying clip is both interesting and creative, Day13n’s first foray into creating in this form of media. It morphs and twists and flickers in an other-worldly way. I would have enjoyed it just as much without the lyrics on screen, I think, they were sometimes distracting and hard to read. Some very cool effects that remind me a little of what Ai does with clips, but these are created manually. Very clever.

PA1N x SAG3 finishes with the lines “The world is what you make of it, what am I gonna make of it?” This line sums up the determination and tenacity of the artist, and shows in the hard work that’s being put in. There’s a lot of talent here, and a lot of lived experience to be shared. I recommend checking out this artist's other work also. Great work. 

 

About day13n

Toronto-born, and currently based in Auckland, day13n grew up sandwiched between the wealthy east end neighbourhood 'The Beaches' and a TCHC subsidised housing community. The oldest of four, day13n spent his childhood raising his three younger sisters, while his parents struggled with unemployment, substance abuse, and his immigrant mother attempted to manage while his father was in prison, and absent.

By the age of 14, day13n had developed serious substance use issues, and was struggling with mental illness, which resulted in violent altercations with his father, and inevitably day13n being kicked out of his family home, and living on his own by the age of 16, dropping out of school, and entering the workforce.

For the next ten years, day13n worked to pull himself out of that pit, with therapy, self reflection, and medication. At his darkest points, he found solace in punk, and angry hip-hop music, but it was messages of hope, and belief in a brighter future embedded in the lyrics of artists like Eminem and Greenday that left a lasting impact.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for day13n

Releases

/7/13/7/
Year: 2023
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Ha the Unclear - Album Review: A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac
25 Apr 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
If I could choose one word to sum up Ha The Unclear’s recent album release I would have to go with the word “inspiring”. And if I could throw a few more together in a kind of haphazard stream-of-consciousness way, I would add that A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac is oozing with creativity, quirky humour, plumbing the depths of musical understanding, and coming back up to the surface with a gift - permission to be one’s authentic self.
Read More...
SNRXG - EP Review: True Story
06 Nov 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Huntly born and raised artist SNRXG keeps the quality tracks coming with this 6-track EP True Story. Collaborating with top-notch local talent, the production on all of these tracks is mint.
Read More...
Phorrest - EP Review: On My Way
19 Sep 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Tuning into the new EP from Auckland hip hop artist Phorrest, the intro track does well to set the scene for the rest of the EP. But wait, why is the title track of the EP in brackets and labeled Intro (On My Way!
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Seem Alright
21 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This week Will McClean releases Seem Alright, the second track from his upcoming album Don’t Forget To Breathe, alongside an accompanying video clip. Seem Alright is a punchy upbeat jazz-funk hip-hop track that has been nicely arranged, with a dash of clarinet, strings, and a sampled jazz vocal for the chorus.
Read More...
Jaqualyn Taimana Williams - EP Review: Guns of Dialogue
20 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Successful children’s music creator Jaqualyn Taimana Williams has recently released a 5-track EP called Guns of Dialogue to follow up her 2019 multi-genre album Statues of Liberty. Guns of Dialogue has a great rock vibe overall, with a fusion of various other elements woven throughout its tracks.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Meow, Wellington - 28/05/2023
30 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
It’s been a good while since I’ve been to a gig at Meow, Wellington, so the first thing I do is weave my way through the growing crowd to get a good look at the size and layout of the stage. It’s nicely raised and fairly spacious, more spacious than I remembered actually!
Read More...
Dillastrate - Single Review: I'm Crazy
22 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Dillastrate, the powerhouse duo from down Christchurch ways, have released another fantastic single that is sure to get you moving and grooving. I’m Crazy dropped at the start of May Music Month and is already making waves and amassing plays, demonstrating that it's been well-received by their fans.
Read More...
Loveta - Single Review: Take It Slow
08 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch artist Loveta releases her first single for 2023 with the heart-wrenching rock ballad Take It Slow. The opening bars allow the listener to really immerse in the fullness of Loveta’s beautiful voice, with just the guitar for accompaniment, producing what I find to be a really quite distinctly kiwi sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem