15 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Phorrest - EP Review: On My Way

19 Sep 2023 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

Tuning into the new EP from Auckland hip hop artist Phorrest, the intro track does well to set the scene for the rest of the EP. But wait, why is the title track of the EP in brackets and labeled Intro (On My Way!)? Perhaps the EP is not so much named with a title track, but instead with a lyric?

Either way, On My Way was definitely a great name for the EP, as it expresses the artist's intended trajectory and gives great energy.

And one thing this offering is not lacking, for sure, is energy!

Personally, I tend to think of an 'intro' track as perhaps just a fragment of an idea, that also has the ability to stand alone. In fact, maybe needs to stand alone, as the best way to showcase it. On My Way could potentially fit into that category, with a little bit of ruthless editing to keep it at a length that’s just enough to tease the listener.

This EP just gets better and better as you go deeper into it, and honestly could have led with any one of the tracks on it. The second track, Late Night Love, is giving me The Weeknd vibes, and I’m really digging it.

Phorrest’s vocals really start to shine through on some of the deeper cuts, like Go Out. My personal fav is the last track Attention, with the melodies becoming more developed and interesting. With a voice like this, I’d like to hear more of that melodic side! While, of course, the barks, whispers, and growls definitely add to the intimidating flavour of the darker tracks too. Then we have the energetic party mood of Riding Up making it the perfect track to listen to on a long drive, or to get pumped up for a workout.

Overall, On My Way is an impressive effort from Phorrest with a really nice range of feels and flavours. A great addition to your New Zealand hip-hop playlist, reminding us to keep on following our dreams.

 

About Phorrest

Arriving on the scene in early 2020, Phorrest transcends the boundaries of traditional rap music with his mesmerizing melodic flows. Captivating audiences with his unique style, seamlessly blending intricate wordplay and rhythmic delivery with soulful melodies. With a voice that effortlessly glides over beats, they create an immersive musical experience that resonates deeply with listeners. His lyrics are thought-provoking, often delving into personal experiences, social issues, and introspection, allowing the audience to connect on a profound level. Phorrest's versatility shines through as he effortlessly switches between high-energy anthems and introspective ballads, showcasing a remarkable range of emotions and storytelling abilities.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Phorrest

Releases

On My Way
Year: 2023
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Thomas Powers - Album Review: A Tyrant Crying In Private
01 Jun 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This stunning 14-track debut solo album from Thomas Powers, of The Naked and Famous fame; A Tyrant Crying in Private is intense yet delicate, holding sadness and beauty in equal measure, deliciously gorgeous in all its glitched and distorted goodness. Parts of the album feel very heavy emotionally, particularly the neo-classical instrumental pieces, which have a vast cinematic effect.
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Album Review: A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac
25 Apr 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
If I could choose one word to sum up Ha The Unclear’s recent album release I would have to go with the word “inspiring”. And if I could throw a few more together in a kind of haphazard stream-of-consciousness way, I would add that A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac is oozing with creativity, quirky humour, plumbing the depths of musical understanding, and coming back up to the surface with a gift - permission to be one’s authentic self.
Read More...
SNRXG - EP Review: True Story
06 Nov 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Huntly born and raised artist SNRXG keeps the quality tracks coming with this 6-track EP True Story. Collaborating with top-notch local talent, the production on all of these tracks is mint.
Read More...
day13n - Single Review: PA1N x SAG3
11 Jul 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Listening to Day13n’s new single PA1N x SAG3 is the stuff of nightmares, with a dark and edgy musicality underpinning the intensely whisper-screamed lyrics. The song is divided into two halves, which nicely illustrates the forces of duality that are at play in the mind of the artist.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Seem Alright
21 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This week Will McClean releases Seem Alright, the second track from his upcoming album Don’t Forget To Breathe, alongside an accompanying video clip. Seem Alright is a punchy upbeat jazz-funk hip-hop track that has been nicely arranged, with a dash of clarinet, strings, and a sampled jazz vocal for the chorus.
Read More...
Jaqualyn Taimana Williams - EP Review: Guns of Dialogue
20 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Successful children’s music creator Jaqualyn Taimana Williams has recently released a 5-track EP called Guns of Dialogue to follow up her 2019 multi-genre album Statues of Liberty. Guns of Dialogue has a great rock vibe overall, with a fusion of various other elements woven throughout its tracks.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Meow, Wellington - 28/05/2023
30 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
It’s been a good while since I’ve been to a gig at Meow, Wellington, so the first thing I do is weave my way through the growing crowd to get a good look at the size and layout of the stage. It’s nicely raised and fairly spacious, more spacious than I remembered actually!
Read More...
Dillastrate - Single Review: I'm Crazy
22 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Dillastrate, the powerhouse duo from down Christchurch ways, have released another fantastic single that is sure to get you moving and grooving. I’m Crazy dropped at the start of May Music Month and is already making waves and amassing plays, demonstrating that it's been well-received by their fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem