17 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will McClean - Single Review: Seem Alright

21 Jun 2023 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

This week Will McClean releases Seem Alright, the second track from his upcoming album Don’t Forget To Breathe, alongside an accompanying video clip.

Seem Alright is a punchy upbeat jazz-funk hip-hop track that has been nicely arranged, with a dash of clarinet, strings, and a sampled jazz vocal for the chorus.

McClean has great flow and a real “Kiwi” sound in his delivery. The lyrics are positive and inspirational and the song travels along with an infectious energy. It’s really catchy and a very enjoyable listen.

The video clip for the track was directed once again by Mason Rudd and features a classic Holden Kingswood on the rooftop of a building in Wellington City. There is a low-fi retro look and feel to the clip, and shots of the surrounding buildings and street art are reminiscent of 90’s hip-hop nostalgia.

McClean is sporting a beret and a briefcase, which gives the video a whole metropolitan vibe. The car is perhaps broken down, parked up with its bonnet open, which ties in with the meaning behind the song; when things are seemingly going wrong in life, we can stop and align ourselves with the present moment, and realise that we are really OK in the here and now. And things start to “seem alright”.

The editing on the clip is clever; teasing in some shots of McClean busting out his dance moves, and overlaid with some interesting layout changes and effects, all set against a cinematic feast for the eyes high above the city-scape. Some friends appear to be possibly stranded with Will, leaning against the car with their backs to the camera. The silhouetted shots are simply stunning as dusk falls over the city, and Rudd has captured just the perfect gestures and moves for every moment.

The closing shots feature all three friends dancing with carefree abandon on the rooftop as darkness falls under a crescent moon. An unopened card addressed “To Will” is put to the flame, signifying perhaps the burning of bridges, or the releasing of someone’s energy or attachment. The meaning here is unclear so this adds a little mystery.

An absolute pleasure to review this track and video clip, and I think this one is really going to go off. I'm looking forward to the full album's release in July.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Will McClean

Will McClean is a Hip-Hop artist from Wellington, New Zealand.

Will McClean’s insightful lyricism is mellow but hard hitting; taking time to say what matters; and by taking a look through his discography you’ll find a blend of vulnerable raps with uplifting aspirations, set against smooth sample-based instrumentals; mixed in with the occasional heavier hip-hop track.

“Insightful lyricism and electric live performances.” - Sniffers.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will McClean

Releases

Don't Forget To Breathe
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Live At The Surgery
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Can't Sleep, I'm Dreaming
Year: 2020
Type: Album
The Calm Before The Now
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

SNRXG - EP Review: True Story
06 Nov 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Huntly born and raised artist SNRXG keeps the quality tracks coming with this 6-track EP True Story. Collaborating with top-notch local talent, the production on all of these tracks is mint.
Read More...
Phorrest - EP Review: On My Way
19 Sep 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Tuning into the new EP from Auckland hip hop artist Phorrest, the intro track does well to set the scene for the rest of the EP. But wait, why is the title track of the EP in brackets and labeled Intro (On My Way!
Read More...
day13n - Single Review: PA1N x SAG3
11 Jul 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Listening to Day13n’s new single PA1N x SAG3 is the stuff of nightmares, with a dark and edgy musicality underpinning the intensely whisper-screamed lyrics. The song is divided into two halves, which nicely illustrates the forces of duality that are at play in the mind of the artist.
Read More...
Jaqualyn Taimana Williams - EP Review: Guns of Dialogue
20 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Successful children’s music creator Jaqualyn Taimana Williams has recently released a 5-track EP called Guns of Dialogue to follow up her 2019 multi-genre album Statues of Liberty. Guns of Dialogue has a great rock vibe overall, with a fusion of various other elements woven throughout its tracks.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Meow, Wellington - 28/05/2023
30 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
It’s been a good while since I’ve been to a gig at Meow, Wellington, so the first thing I do is weave my way through the growing crowd to get a good look at the size and layout of the stage. It’s nicely raised and fairly spacious, more spacious than I remembered actually!
Read More...
Dillastrate - Single Review: I'm Crazy
22 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Dillastrate, the powerhouse duo from down Christchurch ways, have released another fantastic single that is sure to get you moving and grooving. I’m Crazy dropped at the start of May Music Month and is already making waves and amassing plays, demonstrating that it's been well-received by their fans.
Read More...
Loveta - Single Review: Take It Slow
08 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch artist Loveta releases her first single for 2023 with the heart-wrenching rock ballad Take It Slow. The opening bars allow the listener to really immerse in the fullness of Loveta’s beautiful voice, with just the guitar for accompaniment, producing what I find to be a really quite distinctly kiwi sound.
Read More...
Splendid - Single Review: Perspective
05 Apr 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Brodie MacDonald of Splendid perfectly nails the indie vocal sound on her new single Perspective. The production is sweet, spacious, and snappy, and there is a real maturity to the track.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem