28 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jaqualyn Taimana Williams - EP Review: Guns of Dialogue

20 Jun 2023 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth
Successful children’s music creator Jaqualyn Taimana Williams has recently released a 5-track EP called Guns of Dialogue to follow up her 2019 multi-genre album Statues of Liberty. Guns of Dialogue has a great rock vibe overall, with a fusion of various other elements woven throughout its tracks.


The EP kicks off with the folk-rock exploration of self Am I Art? It is a rhythmic, steady, march up the garden path of existential musing, with layers of lovely Celtic-sounding strings giving it a whimsical, folky, feel to suit the dreamy lyrics.

In Between has a more electronic sound in the intro, coupled with a vocal style that reminds me a little bit of Icelandic sensation Bjork. Then the rock guitar kicks in, bringing with it a heavy emotion to go with the quite intense lyrics. I tend to review music by how it makes me feel and the mental imagery it invokes, and this song carries with it the sense of heavy heart. There is a strong feeling of fatedness and being pushed to the edge, yet still full of determination and fight.

Only Owls is a really great song with quite an epic rock/pop sound. Full of punchy guitar riffs and a catchy chord progression. The vocal melody is really cool with nice harmonies overlaid. It’s structured well too, with a nice breakdown. An awesome well-written song, I like it a lot.

The next track is a heavier rock song which I would also describe as pop, due to its catchiness and easy digestibility to a broad audience. You Would is a bit of a wish list for a soulmate, and I can relate. Ah yes, the eternal search as we wander this barren land, with seemingly insurmountable chasms between expectations and reality when it comes to romance. A cutesy and heart-warming song, and I do hope that these dreams are fulfilled for her in this lifetime.

Closing out the EP is Naaku, an acoustic Te Reo rock song that gallops along triumphantly. It’s one of those songs that you can’t help but move your body to!

The EP has been produced by Tim Skedden with mixing and mastering by Chris Chetland at Kog Studio. It was launched with an all-ages variety show in William’s now hometown of Hamilton, complete with comedy and, of course, lots of music! This is one very creative lady making music with passion and oodles of self-expression. So, in answer to the question posed in track one; YES, Jaqi Taimana, you are indeed, art! Keep doing what you do.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jaqualyn Taimana Williams

New Zealand musician and songwriter Jaqualyn Taimana Williams is a self-describes Polynesian Asian Caucasian multi-racial person a mother of four and a registered early childhood teacher.

At age 50, Jaqi released her powerful, exhilarating and engaging 16 track rock/pop album Statues Of Liberty in October 2019. Recorded at Kog Recording Studio with the track production expertise of Tim Skedden (The Feelers, Babysitters Circus) and the mastering skills of Chris Chetland, this collection of songs represents the best and most popular works emerging over decades of songwriting and performing.

A gutsy artist whose lyrics track her inter-human battles and emotional depths over many years, Jaqi says: “It’s a triumph for me, a body of work that is truly dynamic and diverse and plays through beautifully as a whole album.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jaqualyn Taimana Williams

Releases

Guns of Dialogue
Year: 2023
Type: EP
Statues Of Liberty
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Waiata Tamariki
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Ha the Unclear - Album Review: A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac
25 Apr 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
If I could choose one word to sum up Ha The Unclear’s recent album release I would have to go with the word “inspiring”. And if I could throw a few more together in a kind of haphazard stream-of-consciousness way, I would add that A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac is oozing with creativity, quirky humour, plumbing the depths of musical understanding, and coming back up to the surface with a gift - permission to be one’s authentic self.
Read More...
SNRXG - EP Review: True Story
06 Nov 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Huntly born and raised artist SNRXG keeps the quality tracks coming with this 6-track EP True Story. Collaborating with top-notch local talent, the production on all of these tracks is mint.
Read More...
Phorrest - EP Review: On My Way
19 Sep 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Tuning into the new EP from Auckland hip hop artist Phorrest, the intro track does well to set the scene for the rest of the EP. But wait, why is the title track of the EP in brackets and labeled Intro (On My Way!
Read More...
day13n - Single Review: PA1N x SAG3
11 Jul 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Listening to Day13n’s new single PA1N x SAG3 is the stuff of nightmares, with a dark and edgy musicality underpinning the intensely whisper-screamed lyrics. The song is divided into two halves, which nicely illustrates the forces of duality that are at play in the mind of the artist.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Seem Alright
21 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This week Will McClean releases Seem Alright, the second track from his upcoming album Don’t Forget To Breathe, alongside an accompanying video clip. Seem Alright is a punchy upbeat jazz-funk hip-hop track that has been nicely arranged, with a dash of clarinet, strings, and a sampled jazz vocal for the chorus.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Meow, Wellington - 28/05/2023
30 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
It’s been a good while since I’ve been to a gig at Meow, Wellington, so the first thing I do is weave my way through the growing crowd to get a good look at the size and layout of the stage. It’s nicely raised and fairly spacious, more spacious than I remembered actually!
Read More...
Dillastrate - Single Review: I'm Crazy
22 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Dillastrate, the powerhouse duo from down Christchurch ways, have released another fantastic single that is sure to get you moving and grooving. I’m Crazy dropped at the start of May Music Month and is already making waves and amassing plays, demonstrating that it's been well-received by their fans.
Read More...
Loveta - Single Review: Take It Slow
08 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch artist Loveta releases her first single for 2023 with the heart-wrenching rock ballad Take It Slow. The opening bars allow the listener to really immerse in the fullness of Loveta’s beautiful voice, with just the guitar for accompaniment, producing what I find to be a really quite distinctly kiwi sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem