22 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eve Kelly - Eve Kelly @ Jam Factory, Tauranga - 03/03/2023

08 Mar 2023 // A review by Shade

The ‘Sold Out’ sign is a good sign and it went up several days before Eve Kelly’s first show at The Jam Factory in Tauranga’s Historic Village.

Whakatane-based Eve Kelly is a star on-the-rise and she put on a show that left her audience, old and new, elated and begging for more. The dancefloor filled and the crowd loved every minute.

The show coincided with the release of her third single Mr. Big Shot. While that piece pop brilliance showcased her writing talents, the sheer range of the artists she covered told us this is one very special performer.  You have to be very brave and very, very good to cover Britney Spears, Marvin Gaye, Aretha Franklin, Elton John and the Pointer Sisters in one night.

She has the voice and the talent to cover those artists, but it was on her own material that she really shone.  When telling her own stories, she seems to go to another level of emotion and expression. Eve closed the first set with Gotta Let Go, one of her originals and it was stunning. That is really saying something, as it followed her brilliant rendition of Aretha Franklin’s Natural Woman.  

Eve Kelly’s musical theatre background showed as she commanded the stage and captured the audience. The moves and the mannerisms sending every tune skyward.

We can only hope Eve Kelly and her brilliant backing band grace our stage again soon. You would be well-advised to catch the author of Mr. Big Shot as she becomes a big star.

Review provided by Nigel Gregory


 

About Eve Kelly

24-year-old Whakatane-based contempotary pop artist Eve Kelly is an old soul in terms of musicality, with a strikingly rich voice far beyond her years.

Her classically trained background and career in musical performance has helped Eve find her footing as a songwriter, guiding her path as she explores her sound as an artist and ending up with a whimsical mix of adult contemporary, gospel, soul and pop.

Her debut track, Gotta Let Go, is due for release on all digital platforms on Friday 21st October, 2022

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eve Kelly

Releases

There are no releases to display for Eve Kelly.

Other Reviews By Shade

Maggie Cocco's Science for Sociopaths - Gig Review: Maggie Cocco @ Lopdell Theatre, Tititrangi - 22/11/2023
27 Nov 2023 // by Shade
Whatever came out of the pandemic, it stranded some amazing talent here long enough for them to enrich our musical world. Down into the Lopdell labyrinth, a buzz of age-spanning expectancy waited for two of these: Maggie Cocco and her accompanist for the tour Bonnie Schwarz who would add much more than just ‘sad cello’ to tonight’s epic cycle of piano songs.
Read More...
Banks Arcade - Album Review: Future Lovers
28 Jul 2022 // by Shade
For the last 23 years I've been completely immersed in New Zealand music, soaked through to my inner core. I've been living it, breathing it and drinking it in.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem