4 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II

21 Oct 2020 // A review by Shade

There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both. Even less can do so while complementing their own unique style.

Very few bands are also capable of creating songs which possess the power to transport you. Songs which are so enigmatic, yet so persuading. The sort that coax you away from your reality and place you firmly in a domain surrounded by music - where you are not just listening to it, you become it.

Coridian is one such band, and Seed II is a work of art.

The second in a series of 3 (thus far), Seed II has an allure that will captivate you from beginning to end; holding you prisoner in a cell you don't want to escape from. It's obvious that every moment has been carefully thought out and every melody has been purposefully placed. The result is something which is truly hypnotic.

The intro is the magnet of the song; pulling you inwards until you are encapsulated in sound. The lyrics hold a lot of significance and are very relatable on so many levels - this is very much a 'question the knowledge' track. However, the one thing that makes me keep coming back for more is the driving rhythm which is showcased throughout - its seductive nature makes this a very enticing piece of work.

Although I am sure Seed II would sound incredible played live and loud, this is one song which is best played with headphones on and eyes closed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four-piece Auckland based who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ and Australian music including Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City Of Souls), Paul Lawrence (His Master’s Voice), Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad) and Ermin Hamidovic (Architects/Intervals).

They've toured extensively around NZ, including their own headlining tours and performing with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin, City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Written by Wolves, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Fozzy (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written by Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Absentee
29 Mar 2019 // by Shade
The truth can be many things - challenging, concerning, infuriating or even thought-provoking. It may be all of these things, or something completely different.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem