1 Mar 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II

21 Oct 2020 // A review by Shade

There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both. Even less can do so while complementing their own unique style.

Very few bands are also capable of creating songs which possess the power to transport you. Songs which are so enigmatic, yet so persuading. The sort that coax you away from your reality and place you firmly in a domain surrounded by music - where you are not just listening to it, you become it.

Coridian is one such band, and Seed II is a work of art.

The second in a series of 3 (thus far), Seed II has an allure that will captivate you from beginning to end; holding you prisoner in a cell you don't want to escape from. It's obvious that every moment has been carefully thought out and every melody has been purposefully placed. The result is something which is truly hypnotic.

The intro is the magnet of the song; pulling you inwards until you are encapsulated in sound. The lyrics hold a lot of significance and are very relatable on so many levels - this is very much a 'question the knowledge' track. However, the one thing that makes me keep coming back for more is the driving rhythm which is showcased throughout - its seductive nature makes this a very enticing piece of work.

Although I am sure Seed II would sound incredible played live and loud, this is one song which is best played with headphones on and eyes closed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Coridian

Coridian is an alternative/progressive rock group from Auckland, New Zealand.

Formed in 2015, the band consists of brothers Mike Raven (Guitars/Keys), Kris Raven (Drums/Percussion), Nick Raven (Bass) and Dity Maharaj (Vocals/Lyrics/Art).

They’ve been described, "Raven brothers (Mike, Kris and Nick respectively) work as a well-oiled machine; the gear box of which is Maharaj, his vocals taking the band from a hum to a scream within seconds" (Ambient Light).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Hava
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Maggie Cocco's Science for Sociopaths - Gig Review: Maggie Cocco @ Lopdell Theatre, Tititrangi - 22/11/2023
27 Nov 2023 // by Shade
Whatever came out of the pandemic, it stranded some amazing talent here long enough for them to enrich our musical world. Down into the Lopdell labyrinth, a buzz of age-spanning expectancy waited for two of these: Maggie Cocco and her accompanist for the tour Bonnie Schwarz who would add much more than just ‘sad cello’ to tonight’s epic cycle of piano songs.
Read More...
Eve Kelly @ Jam Factory, Tauranga - 03/03/2023
08 Mar 2023 // by Shade
The ‘Sold Out’ sign is a good sign and it went up several days before Eve Kelly’s first show at The Jam Factory in Tauranga’s Historic Village. Whakatane-based Eve Kelly is a star on-the-rise and she put on a show that left her audience, old and new, elated and begging for more.
Read More...
Banks Arcade - Album Review: Future Lovers
28 Jul 2022 // by Shade
For the last 23 years I've been completely immersed in New Zealand music, soaked through to my inner core. I've been living it, breathing it and drinking it in.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem