27 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Channeled - Single Review: Deeper

06 Aug 2019 // A review by Shade

Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality. Other times, we are offered temptations which cannot be refused; the appeal of something that can offers relief from our daily struggles can prove to be irresistible.

Although it may start innocently enough, it can end with an addiction that both drives and destroys us.

Ben Ruegg's newest track Deeper explores what can be a very personal battle with such an addiction - alcoholism - and it makes for a very compelling listen.

Right from the intro it is especially evident that a lot of dedication and thought has gone into the creation of this song. The music envelops itself around the lyrics seamlessly, as though it is a blanket encasing a person in comfort. The chorus in particular depicts a deep desperation with a very real need to escape, with both the lyrics and the music conveying it perfectly.

Deeper is more than just a crusade against an addiction; it's an intimate and detailed account of a personal life experience. To create a song such as this takes a lot of grit, determination and courage, which makes this truly admirable.

Deeper is an authentic revelation for Ben; it's thought-provoking, intense and powerful. While it was crafted from a personal battle, it also honours the final outcome - triumph. Deeper is one outstanding release which Ben should very rightly be proud of.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Channeled

Channeled is a music project lead by singer/songwriter Ben Ruegg.

Coming with years of experience as a songwriter and performer, Ben has found a way to channel his ideas into the form of his powerful and well received self-titled debut album, Channeled.

The album kicks off with Bring It Back and the raw power of rock is evident right from the start with guitars that build up and explode in the intro. The wall-of-sound guitars complement the energetic rhythm section to create an authentic rock sound that emanates with charisma. This is rock music you can really feel and Channeled delivers it to perfection

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Channeled

Releases

There are no releases to display for Channeled.

Other Reviews By Shade

Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Written by Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Absentee
29 Mar 2019 // by Shade
The truth can be many things - challenging, concerning, infuriating or even thought-provoking. It may be all of these things, or something completely different.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Lost On You
19 Mar 2019 // by Shade
Some songs are simply infectious. Lost On You by Dead Favours is unquestionably one of those songs - play it enough times, and it will take up permanent residency in your mind.
Read More...
Estère - Single/Video Review: Tokoloshe with Raiza Biza
27 Sep 2018 // by Shade
In Zulu mythology, a Tokoloshe is a dwarf-like water sprite. It is considered a mischievous and evil spirit that is called upon by malevolent people to cause trouble for others.
Read More...
Arrays - Album Review: Wreck
13 Sep 2018 // by Shade
Wreck is the debut album from talented multi-instrumentalist JP Carroll and follows on from his 2017 EP Motives. Being released under JP's solo heavy rock project Arrays, the title Wreck says so much, yet it says so little.
Read More...
Huia - EP Review: Aio
27 Jul 2018 // by Shade
Aio - to be at Peace. Aio is what we strive for in our own minds, Aio is what nature is calling for and Aio is what the world needs Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem