17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Banks Arcade - Album Review: Future Lovers

28 Jul 2022 // A review by Shade

For the last 23 years I've been completely immersed in New Zealand music, soaked through to my inner core. I've been living it, breathing it and drinking it in. After all these years, NZ music is as much a part of my being as is the blood in my veins.

And while I've heard a huge array of what NZ music has on offer, my heart truly belongs to rock.

As with everyone else, I have my favourites. The music I always go to whenever I need something extra to help me through the day. The music that's on constant rotate in my car. The bands I have to see every single time they play near me. My rock family.

I now have a new favourite.

Very rarely do I come across an album that grabs hold of my attention in such a way that I struggle to pull myself away. An album that is so magnetic that I've had it playing almost non-stop since it landed in my email. And just like the lyrics in Don't Start, it's like a new addiction; I keep coming back for more.

Initially I wasn't a fan of the track Fake Your Death, but it grew on me with repeated listens. The intro is slightly reminiscent of Villainy's The Answer, and it evolves into a unique yet deliciously heavy piece which tantalises every sense.

Be Someone is a deeply intimate track with lyrics which will likely resonate with musicians who are facing resistance within the industry. Described as a "vulnerable track of hopes and dreams", it is accompanied by a simple but very apt video.

It's true that no two songs are the same, and Used is a prime example of that. Adding a whole new element to the album, this track showcases Banks Arcade's versatility as it jumps from rap to metal undertones seamlessly.

Don't Start is an explosive call-to-battle which is sure to be well received, especially live. The band said it's "aimed at those who try to tear us down behind closed doors but would never have the guts to front up and say something in person". Not only does this track push the limits, it overcomes them, and resoundingly so.

Overall, Future Lovers is an incredible release and quite possibly the best to hit NZ shores this year. In a world where we are literally drowning in new music every single day, this is one release which is sure to stand out well above all the rest, and one which I know I'll keep coming back to time and time again.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Banks Arcade

Releases

Future Lovers
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Fever Dreams
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem