24 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Macho Macho - Single Review: Blink

01 Feb 2023 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth
Wow, I have to say the new single Blink from Macho Macho is extremely impressive! I was hooked right from the very first listen. Even just the intro, I mean, you can hear right away how much these guys have levelled up since their humble beginnings in 2018, playing their very first gig on the 12th September at Valhalla. Their recent single release party at the same venue marked their 50th gig, and it is really great to see this young local band sticking together and making real gains in their musicality, and the quality of their releases.

The songwriting is sophisticated, the rhythm section is mind-blowing, and the track itself is as catchy as all get out of town!! And I’m pleased to report, I have also given it the dance test, and yes; it passed with booty-shaking arms-flying colours.


The rhythm section is comprised of Connor Lyttle on bass and Dayne Robinson on drums and is the real stand-out feature of the track for me. It’s way funkier than your average indie rock band with alt-punk leanings. I have a real proclivity for raw obnoxious punk music, and I absolutely love the punk feel of the chorus and Logan McAllister’s vocals, but the funky breakdowns are such a sweet, sweet, fusion and I think that’s what makes this song one that you just really NEED to get up and dance to. Like Baloo in The Jungle Book movie, the music possesses your body and turns you into something resembling the twerking dead. So, props for that!

Both McAllister and Lachlan Burne tie the sections together skilfully on their guitars, with great use of interesting chord phrasings and excellent punchy riffs. Nothing is overplayed here, and what is played, is perfect. The backing vocals also cannot be faulted, all adding up to one seriously heck of a good track!

Big ups to Toby Lloyd of Tiny Triumph Recordings for the excellent production skills on this, and I am really looking forward to the subsequent recordings coming out of these sessions.

After having toured and played extensively around New Zealand, the cream has risen to the top, and Macho Macho are set to release this set of tried-and-tested crowd favourites as an EP. This seems like a great strategy, and if the rest of the tracks are anywhere as good as this one, I have no doubt of its success.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Macho Macho

Proudly belonging to Te Whanganui-A-Tara's music scene since 2018, Macho Macho have become known primarily for their irregular, left-turning live shows.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Macho Macho

Releases

Blink & You'll Miss It
Year: 2023
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

SNRXG - EP Review: True Story
06 Nov 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Huntly born and raised artist SNRXG keeps the quality tracks coming with this 6-track EP True Story. Collaborating with top-notch local talent, the production on all of these tracks is mint.
Read More...
Phorrest - EP Review: On My Way
19 Sep 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Tuning into the new EP from Auckland hip hop artist Phorrest, the intro track does well to set the scene for the rest of the EP. But wait, why is the title track of the EP in brackets and labeled Intro (On My Way!
Read More...
day13n - Single Review: PA1N x SAG3
11 Jul 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Listening to Day13n’s new single PA1N x SAG3 is the stuff of nightmares, with a dark and edgy musicality underpinning the intensely whisper-screamed lyrics. The song is divided into two halves, which nicely illustrates the forces of duality that are at play in the mind of the artist.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Seem Alright
21 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This week Will McClean releases Seem Alright, the second track from his upcoming album Don’t Forget To Breathe, alongside an accompanying video clip. Seem Alright is a punchy upbeat jazz-funk hip-hop track that has been nicely arranged, with a dash of clarinet, strings, and a sampled jazz vocal for the chorus.
Read More...
Jaqualyn Taimana Williams - EP Review: Guns of Dialogue
20 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Successful children’s music creator Jaqualyn Taimana Williams has recently released a 5-track EP called Guns of Dialogue to follow up her 2019 multi-genre album Statues of Liberty. Guns of Dialogue has a great rock vibe overall, with a fusion of various other elements woven throughout its tracks.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Meow, Wellington - 28/05/2023
30 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
It’s been a good while since I’ve been to a gig at Meow, Wellington, so the first thing I do is weave my way through the growing crowd to get a good look at the size and layout of the stage. It’s nicely raised and fairly spacious, more spacious than I remembered actually!
Read More...
Dillastrate - Single Review: I'm Crazy
22 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Dillastrate, the powerhouse duo from down Christchurch ways, have released another fantastic single that is sure to get you moving and grooving. I’m Crazy dropped at the start of May Music Month and is already making waves and amassing plays, demonstrating that it's been well-received by their fans.
Read More...
Loveta - Single Review: Take It Slow
08 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch artist Loveta releases her first single for 2023 with the heart-wrenching rock ballad Take It Slow. The opening bars allow the listener to really immerse in the fullness of Loveta’s beautiful voice, with just the guitar for accompaniment, producing what I find to be a really quite distinctly kiwi sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem