3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nick Burson Band - Single Review: Best Dreams

07 Dec 2022 // A review by Jack Grabham

Christchurch's country blues rock artist Nick Burson returns with his band, giving us the third single from his soon to be released Hindsight album, Best Dreams.

Nick is a very capable lyricist and vocalist. He's captured a mood of the story behind his lyrics: of a personal friend going through hard times and who could only see that things were falling apart, leaving him feeling helpless but unable to stop trying. It's a dry vocal performance, very raw. I like that.

For this single Nick has partnered up with country pop singer Steffany Beck, for whom he's played lead guitar for numerous performances. I'll not give too much away, but wait for her lead vocal. Top drawer!

The orchestration is good, but not wow factor. Mix and mastering the same. Exceptionally competent playing and engineering, without being the in-your-face level I like. It does fit the melancholy of the song's story though, so I'm going to stop there with that line.

It'll be interesting to see how this goes over live - and if you're going to the summer festivals, watch out for Nick and Steff, as they are on the bill for a number of these. If country blues is your thing, this is for you. It's not mine, but I don't want to be negative about artists putting their hearts and soul out there so this definitely deserves a four star rating.

Greed's been crowned the new king.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Nick Burson Band

In 2009 Nick Burson finished his music degree at CPIT (now ARRA) He was left with a degree and a bright musical future. Since then he has been gigging around Christchurch predominately in the covers scene. When 2020 hit and Covid all but destroyed the covers scene, Nick took the time to write a new album and get stuck into pursuing his real passion. Originals music!!
Country blues rock with a guitar focus, Nick write songs about living in our modern world and trying to manage life with 2 jobs and a family.



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nick Burson Band

Releases

There are no releases to display for Nick Burson Band.

Other Reviews By Jack Grabham

Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Still Love You
26 Jan 2023 // by Jack Grabham
Here's the thing. I am a rock music fan, principally the 70's and 80's stuff.
Read More...
Soft Plastics - Single Review: Disembody
26 Jan 2023 // by Jack Grabham
A definite atmosphere builder. That's what I got from listening to Te Whanganui-a-Tara (Wellington to anyone reading from beyond these shores) indie three piece Soft Plastics new single Disembody.
Read More...
ARLi - Single Review: Uninvite Me
06 Dec 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Born Alice Foulds, ARLi is an Auckland-born and bred singer-songwriter who's been developing the sound we get here for the last seven years of writing and performing. Now, do I like this stuff enough to mark it highly?...
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single/Video Review: Marigold
28 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
I clicked the five stars score before putting a letter to type. Kiwi-born but Brisbane-based heavy rockers These Four Walls are a professional unit.
Read More...
Juliet McLean - EP Review: Amaze Me
24 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
A very introspective offering here from Taranaki based singer/songwriter Juliet McLean. The EP Amaze Me, named for its promo single release, is not my usual cup of tea - however, I have said before that music is a subjective creature and a thing of beauty to me might not be so for you...
Read More...
Tia Ward - Single Review: Ko Wai Ahau
18 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Divine. Taranaki, Ngati Maniapoto has given us the bewitching sound of Tia Ward.
Read More...
Finn Johansson - Single Review: You Look Down At Me
08 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
I am SO having a golden run with these reviews! Yet another that has sent me to that place I like to go.
Read More...
The Late Starters - Single Review: False Victim
31 Oct 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Okay, here's another belter. Christchurch's groovy rockers The Late Starters are releasing their new single False Victim on 1st November, and you need to hear it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jack Grabham

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem