21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nick Burson Band - Single Review: Best Dreams

07 Dec 2022 // A review by taffynz

Christchurch's country blues rock artist Nick Burson returns with his band, giving us the third single from his soon to be released Hindsight album, Best Dreams.

Nick is a very capable lyricist and vocalist. He's captured a mood of the story behind his lyrics: of a personal friend going through hard times and who could only see that things were falling apart, leaving him feeling helpless but unable to stop trying. It's a dry vocal performance, very raw. I like that.

For this single Nick has partnered up with country pop singer Steffany Beck, for whom he's played lead guitar for numerous performances. I'll not give too much away, but wait for her lead vocal. Top drawer!

The orchestration is good, but not wow factor. Mix and mastering the same. Exceptionally competent playing and engineering, without being the in-your-face level I like. It does fit the melancholy of the song's story though, so I'm going to stop there with that line.

It'll be interesting to see how this goes over live - and if you're going to the summer festivals, watch out for Nick and Steff, as they are on the bill for a number of these. If country blues is your thing, this is for you. It's not mine, but I don't want to be negative about artists putting their hearts and soul out there so this definitely deserves a four star rating.

Greed's been crowned the new king.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Nick Burson Band

In 2009 Nick Burson finished his music degree at CPIT (now ARRA) He was left with a degree and a bright musical future. Since then he has been gigging around Christchurch predominately in the covers scene. When 2020 hit and Covid all but destroyed the covers scene, Nick took the time to write a new album and get stuck into pursuing his real passion. Originals music!!

Country blues rock with a guitar focus, Nick write songs about living in our modern world and trying to manage life with 2 jobs and a family.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nick Burson Band

Releases

There are no releases to display for Nick Burson Band.

Other Reviews By taffynz

Cautionary Tales - Single Review: Women
15 Jun 2023 // by taffynz
One of the things I love about this job is that music is such a giver. I listened to the opening first few bars of Cautionary Tales' new single release Women and I was nodding me old head along with the sinister, wonderfully balanced intro - then vocalist/keys man Will Marshall kicked in with his opening lines.
Read More...
Underwire - Single Review: Gravity
25 May 2023 // by taffynz
I like Underwire. I've been privileged to catch this Wellington-based punk/indie band live a number of times, going back a few years.
Read More...
Sounds Escape - Single Review: Haunted
22 May 2023 // by taffynz
Sounds Escape is the project band name of one-man show Logan Wedgwood. The release of the EP Echo Cinema sees Logan releasing the track Haunted as the EP's promo single.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - Single Review: Forever
19 May 2023 // by taffynz
80's! It was a place, not just a time.
Read More...
Andy White & Tim Finn - Album Review: AT
29 Mar 2023 // by taffynz
I still have my original late 70's 7" vinyl single of I Got You by Split Enz, despite emigrating to these shores in early 1997. I wasn't even a teenager in the late 70's.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Corazon
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. Pop isn't my bag.
Read More...
Chump Change - Single Review: Ocean Eyed Machine
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Oh, I'm getting a real knack for picking the ones that get my toes tappin'! With this single, Ocean Eyed Machine, Dunedin-based indie outfit Chump Change have delivered an ethereal delight that lives up to its billing of "summer hit" on the EPK I got sent.
Read More...
B O K E H - Single/Video Review: Simple Little Things
23 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
I seem to be picking up pop pieces recently. Lucky for me, I'm picking up quality commercial-standard work like this one, B O K E H's new single Simple Little Things.
Read More...
View All Articles By taffynz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem