21 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chump Change - Single Review: Ocean Eyed Machine

24 Feb 2023 // A review by taffynz

Oh, I'm getting a real knack for picking the ones that get my toes tappin'!

With this single, Ocean Eyed Machine, Dunedin-based indie outfit Chump Change have delivered an ethereal delight that lives up to its billing of "summer hit" on the EPK I got sent. Members George White (vocals and guitar), Daniel Van Lith (vocals, guitar), Riley Smith (bass) and Logan Edwards (drums) have crafted a four minute piece of indie lover's dream sound - somewhere in between dream-pop and the Stone Roses, this sound is what I think the Dunedin sound was always going to deliver at some point. And it's right up my alley for how I like my indie.

Released today, the 24th of February 2023, it's the debut single from their debut EP Welcome To Paradise, due in the next couple of months. It's written about the good times the band members have had during their time in Scarfie City, and the mood it captures with its mix, orchestration, composition and delivery, fits that.

With a nice meaty bottom end, the guitar players sit with that aforementioned ethereal, almost dream-pop sound, and a delicately balanced vocal that's not quite in your face, but nicely prevalent. I wasn't given the info on where it was recorded, engineered etc. or by whom, but they did a top job. I can see these guys going places, and I really hope their fan base in Dunners helps them along the way with the likes of canvassing for airplay and hitting the download button from today onwards.

They're hitting the road in July: Dunners, Christchurch, Welly and Auckland. Watch out for news of the tour. If you like indie stuff, you will definitely like this. Well worth the time.

Kneel Down Ye Sinners To Streetwise Religion!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Chump Change

Chump Change are a 4-piece alternative band from Otepoti, Dunedin, New Zealand. George and Daniel met in 2019 at Studholme College and started out as a duo, making singles as bedroom producers. Having now expanded, introducing new band members, Riley and Logan, Chump Change will together release their debut EP in 2023.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chump Change

Releases

There are no releases to display for Chump Change.

Other Reviews By taffynz

Cautionary Tales - Single Review: Women
15 Jun 2023 // by taffynz
One of the things I love about this job is that music is such a giver. I listened to the opening first few bars of Cautionary Tales' new single release Women and I was nodding me old head along with the sinister, wonderfully balanced intro - then vocalist/keys man Will Marshall kicked in with his opening lines.
Read More...
Underwire - Single Review: Gravity
25 May 2023 // by taffynz
I like Underwire. I've been privileged to catch this Wellington-based punk/indie band live a number of times, going back a few years.
Read More...
Sounds Escape - Single Review: Haunted
22 May 2023 // by taffynz
Sounds Escape is the project band name of one-man show Logan Wedgwood. The release of the EP Echo Cinema sees Logan releasing the track Haunted as the EP's promo single.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - Single Review: Forever
19 May 2023 // by taffynz
80's! It was a place, not just a time.
Read More...
Andy White & Tim Finn - Album Review: AT
29 Mar 2023 // by taffynz
I still have my original late 70's 7" vinyl single of I Got You by Split Enz, despite emigrating to these shores in early 1997. I wasn't even a teenager in the late 70's.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Corazon
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. Pop isn't my bag.
Read More...
B O K E H - Single/Video Review: Simple Little Things
23 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
I seem to be picking up pop pieces recently. Lucky for me, I'm picking up quality commercial-standard work like this one, B O K E H's new single Simple Little Things.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Still Love You
26 Jan 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. I am a rock music fan, principally the 70's and 80's stuff.
Read More...
View All Articles By taffynz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem