17 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

B O K E H - Single/Video Review: Simple Little Things

23 Feb 2023 // A review by taffynz

I seem to be picking up pop pieces recently. Lucky for me, I'm picking up quality commercial-standard work like this one, B O K E H's new single Simple Little Things. About wanting to open up and wear one's heart on one's sleeve but being afraid of what might come from doing so, it's an almost whimsical look into one's insecurities and fears that cripple our ability to expose ourselves emotionally. Almost, because there's a stark, bare production to this song that makes it ache with an intangible desire for the singer to make it sweet: to make us "better". This is art pop.

The bare production is vaguely Lorde-like, but vocalist Chloe Lewer (from the great city of Wellington) has a less ethereal, more gutsy tone. This lends itself to the mood it portrays. I don't have too much info about the location and engineers involved other than it's self-produced.

B O K E H is based in Berlin, and her upcoming album, which this is the second promo single from, is due in July 2023. Title for the album is Room 42. Simple Little Things is supported vocally by Berlin-based Ruuth, and Canadian rapper Lex Leosis.

While the single is well-thought out, produced and crafted, the video - shot in Montreal, Canada - is easy to follow, to the point of the storyline and contains just the right amount of minor abstract distractions to stop it becoming a very short soundtrack clip. It's good, while not being spectacular, however we get to see the performers themselves - and they are very interesting, compelling looking people who you see and want to say hi to across tables in a central Wellington coffee shop. Not dissing the vid; it does its job very well.

If this is the calibre of the upcoming album, and you're a fan of thoughtful, introspective pop with a definite commercial bite, this is for you. I'll be keeping an eye out for album release. I hope someone here in NZ is in place to provide the commercial radio support this deserves. Five stars.

Game bites, fatal strikes, we lie on the Wild Side.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About B O K E H

B O K E H creates dreamy electropop music in tandem with self-directed and produced visuals to accompany them.

Formerly an actress, B O K E H now pretends to be a musician, making R&B influenced electropop which utilises a kaleidoscope of analogue synths, self-made samples made from iPhone field recordings and drum beats inspired by likes of the 80's and 90's.

At the core of B O K E H’s music, tying together a diverse range of genre-defying sounds, are her confessional vocals, a centrepiece to the cinematic and emotive soundscape that she creates. Often repetitive lyrics are sung like prayers, through her unmistakable, emphatic vibrato, always with an inescapable tinge of melancholy.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for B O K E H

Releases

There are no releases to display for B O K E H.

Other Reviews By taffynz

Cautionary Tales - Single Review: Women
15 Jun 2023 // by taffynz
One of the things I love about this job is that music is such a giver. I listened to the opening first few bars of Cautionary Tales' new single release Women and I was nodding me old head along with the sinister, wonderfully balanced intro - then vocalist/keys man Will Marshall kicked in with his opening lines.
Read More...
Underwire - Single Review: Gravity
25 May 2023 // by taffynz
I like Underwire. I've been privileged to catch this Wellington-based punk/indie band live a number of times, going back a few years.
Read More...
Sounds Escape - Single Review: Haunted
22 May 2023 // by taffynz
Sounds Escape is the project band name of one-man show Logan Wedgwood. The release of the EP Echo Cinema sees Logan releasing the track Haunted as the EP's promo single.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - Single Review: Forever
19 May 2023 // by taffynz
80's! It was a place, not just a time.
Read More...
Andy White & Tim Finn - Album Review: AT
29 Mar 2023 // by taffynz
I still have my original late 70's 7" vinyl single of I Got You by Split Enz, despite emigrating to these shores in early 1997. I wasn't even a teenager in the late 70's.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Corazon
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. Pop isn't my bag.
Read More...
Chump Change - Single Review: Ocean Eyed Machine
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Oh, I'm getting a real knack for picking the ones that get my toes tappin'! With this single, Ocean Eyed Machine, Dunedin-based indie outfit Chump Change have delivered an ethereal delight that lives up to its billing of "summer hit" on the EPK I got sent.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Still Love You
26 Jan 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. I am a rock music fan, principally the 70's and 80's stuff.
Read More...
View All Articles By taffynz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem