19 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Underwire - Single Review: Gravity

25 May 2023 // A review by taffynz

I like Underwire. I've been privileged to catch this Wellington-based punk/indie band live a number of times, going back a few years. Yep - these guys have certainly done their time and have earned your attention.

Lead vocalist/guitarist/songwriter Johnny Mills is a bad ol' punk rocker from waaaaay back, and I know the guy means every word, every chord, every on-stage snarl. Go see them. Buy Johnny a drink, because he's one of the most approachable, genuine people you're likely to meet.

Their single Gravity was recorded in 2021 (yes, while the world was in turmoil - not that it ain't still, but hey...) at Massey School of Music in the capital. Recorded by Mike Gibson and Robbie Pattinson (no, he's not a sparkly skinned vampire, I'm assured) and mastered by the legendary Scott Seabright, Underwire has delivered a 21st Century punk anthem. I can see this going over incredibly well in their high energy, in your face live show.

What did I get from it? Mark Hamill and Steve Tremewan (drums and bass respectively) deliver a thunderous yet deep and sinister opening which retains its vibe and mood throughout. Johnny and Spike, the twin guitar, twin vocal front of house alongside Jane Brimblecombe on BVs, thrust a menacing melody that sent me straight into the post-punk scene of the late 70's a la Magazine and Joy Division. This is not suggesting the song is a rip off or a retro of the New Wave, but the dark energy oozing from it puts one in the same mood as visuals and sounds from that oh so fey time.

The lyrics tell a tale of impulsive attractions that swiftly go stale, bad situations that protract via self-doubt and co-dependence. A wonderfully nasty song, great writing, great orchestration and performance, quality studio activities making it what the band definitely wanted it to be. Check it out if this genre is up your alley. Check them out if you get the chance. It's out on parole on Friday 26th May.

Greed's been crowned the new king!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Underwire

Underwire was born in 2010 from Pixies tribute 'Proxies' in happy collision with Wazzo Clash. Finding a rapport and chemistry from their cover band work, Underwire play punchy indie pop & rock, with all the band writing and developing uplifting, catchy songs that are in your head when you wake up. Re-emerging in 2020 with new songs and a leaning toward the stormy side of surf rock, Underwire recorded at Massey School of Music in 2021 with Mike Gibson & Robbie Pattinson, and in May 2023 began releasing singles remixed and mastered by production wizard Scott Seabright, with help from independent label PlasticGroove HQ

Underwire is a group of seasoned musicians with hundreds of gigs under their collective belts.

Indie is good. Recordings & releases to come!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Underwire

Releases

There are no releases to display for Underwire.

Other Reviews By taffynz

Cautionary Tales - Single Review: Women
15 Jun 2023 // by taffynz
One of the things I love about this job is that music is such a giver. I listened to the opening first few bars of Cautionary Tales' new single release Women and I was nodding me old head along with the sinister, wonderfully balanced intro - then vocalist/keys man Will Marshall kicked in with his opening lines.
Read More...
Sounds Escape - Single Review: Haunted
22 May 2023 // by taffynz
Sounds Escape is the project band name of one-man show Logan Wedgwood. The release of the EP Echo Cinema sees Logan releasing the track Haunted as the EP's promo single.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - Single Review: Forever
19 May 2023 // by taffynz
80's! It was a place, not just a time.
Read More...
Andy White & Tim Finn - Album Review: AT
29 Mar 2023 // by taffynz
I still have my original late 70's 7" vinyl single of I Got You by Split Enz, despite emigrating to these shores in early 1997. I wasn't even a teenager in the late 70's.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Corazon
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. Pop isn't my bag.
Read More...
Chump Change - Single Review: Ocean Eyed Machine
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Oh, I'm getting a real knack for picking the ones that get my toes tappin'! With this single, Ocean Eyed Machine, Dunedin-based indie outfit Chump Change have delivered an ethereal delight that lives up to its billing of "summer hit" on the EPK I got sent.
Read More...
B O K E H - Single/Video Review: Simple Little Things
23 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
I seem to be picking up pop pieces recently. Lucky for me, I'm picking up quality commercial-standard work like this one, B O K E H's new single Simple Little Things.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Still Love You
26 Jan 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. I am a rock music fan, principally the 70's and 80's stuff.
Read More...
View All Articles By taffynz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem