3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

ARLi - Single Review: Uninvite Me

06 Dec 2022 // A review by Jack Grabham

Born Alice Foulds, ARLi is an Auckland-born and bred singer-songwriter who's been developing the sound we get here for the last seven years of writing and performing. Now, do I like this stuff enough to mark it highly?...

OH DEAR LORD YES! The single, Uninvite Me, is an audio homage to her childhood musical roots within the post-Grunge punk-pop era. Bands like Blink 182, Offspring, Alanis Morissette and that ilk, that's where the vibe is born for this rock star in waiting.

An absolutely pumping bottom end, sharp rhythm section allowed to snarl, wonderfully mixed rhythm and lead guitars with deceptively cool layering. A flawless rock vocalist performance and great, understated backing vocals. Recorded and produced by Toby Lloyd at Tiny Triumph Studios, mastered at KOG. Toby has done a really great job of giving what has to be a future live show favourite real justice; catching the raw energy of the genre, not losing the organic feel that can often happen with a sure-fire hit single during the mix/master. He's to be commended.

The song itself is catchy and still edgy, which is where the Alanis Morissette comment comes in. ARLi has her own voice though, so don't think of this as a tribute to Alanis or any other of those lovely people. Great flow, really sassy lyrics - including the odd rudie one, oopsie! ;-) - and I can visualise the video already. In your face, grinning while flipping you the birdie. ARLI!!! DO A VIDEO!!!

I could gush about this one all day. Seriously in the top drawer of my preferred styles. It's going onto my Spotify. Five out of five feels miserly! Absolutely rockin'! Play it loud.

Fatal strikes, we lie on the wild side.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About ARLi

ARLi is the fresh rebranding of Auckland born singer/songwriter Alice Foulds. Having completed several successful NZ tours, ARLi steps into a new unapologetic era in music, embracing her childhood influence of artists like Blink-182, Alanis Morissette and Avril Lavigne.

Her brand new single Uninvite Me releases Dec 3rd 2022.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for ARLi

Releases

There are no releases to display for ARLi.

Other Reviews By Jack Grabham

Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Still Love You
26 Jan 2023 // by Jack Grabham
Here's the thing. I am a rock music fan, principally the 70's and 80's stuff.
Read More...
Soft Plastics - Single Review: Disembody
26 Jan 2023 // by Jack Grabham
A definite atmosphere builder. That's what I got from listening to Te Whanganui-a-Tara (Wellington to anyone reading from beyond these shores) indie three piece Soft Plastics new single Disembody.
Read More...
Nick Burson Band - Single Review: Best Dreams
07 Dec 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Christchurch's country blues rock artist Nick Burson returns with his band, giving us the third single from his soon to be released Hindsight album, Best Dreams. Nick is a very capable lyricist and vocalist.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single/Video Review: Marigold
28 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
I clicked the five stars score before putting a letter to type. Kiwi-born but Brisbane-based heavy rockers These Four Walls are a professional unit.
Read More...
Juliet McLean - EP Review: Amaze Me
24 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
A very introspective offering here from Taranaki based singer/songwriter Juliet McLean. The EP Amaze Me, named for its promo single release, is not my usual cup of tea - however, I have said before that music is a subjective creature and a thing of beauty to me might not be so for you...
Read More...
Tia Ward - Single Review: Ko Wai Ahau
18 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Divine. Taranaki, Ngati Maniapoto has given us the bewitching sound of Tia Ward.
Read More...
Finn Johansson - Single Review: You Look Down At Me
08 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
I am SO having a golden run with these reviews! Yet another that has sent me to that place I like to go.
Read More...
The Late Starters - Single Review: False Victim
31 Oct 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Okay, here's another belter. Christchurch's groovy rockers The Late Starters are releasing their new single False Victim on 1st November, and you need to hear it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jack Grabham

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem