14 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

ARLi - Single Review: Uninvite Me

06 Dec 2022 // A review by taffynz

Born Alice Foulds, ARLi is an Auckland-born and bred singer-songwriter who's been developing the sound we get here for the last seven years of writing and performing. Now, do I like this stuff enough to mark it highly?...

OH DEAR LORD YES! The single, Uninvite Me, is an audio homage to her childhood musical roots within the post-Grunge punk-pop era. Bands like Blink 182, Offspring, Alanis Morissette and that ilk, that's where the vibe is born for this rock star in waiting.

An absolutely pumping bottom end, sharp rhythm section allowed to snarl, wonderfully mixed rhythm and lead guitars with deceptively cool layering. A flawless rock vocalist performance and great, understated backing vocals. Recorded and produced by Toby Lloyd at Tiny Triumph Studios, mastered at KOG. Toby has done a really great job of giving what has to be a future live show favourite real justice; catching the raw energy of the genre, not losing the organic feel that can often happen with a sure-fire hit single during the mix/master. He's to be commended.

The song itself is catchy and still edgy, which is where the Alanis Morissette comment comes in. ARLi has her own voice though, so don't think of this as a tribute to Alanis or any other of those lovely people. Great flow, really sassy lyrics - including the odd rudie one, oopsie! ;-) - and I can visualise the video already. In your face, grinning while flipping you the birdie. ARLI!!! DO A VIDEO!!!

I could gush about this one all day. Seriously in the top drawer of my preferred styles. It's going onto my Spotify. Five out of five feels miserly! Absolutely rockin'! Play it loud.

Fatal strikes, we lie on the wild side.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About ARLi

ARLi is the fresh rebranding of Auckland born singer/songwriter Alice Foulds. Having completed several successful NZ tours, ARLi steps into a new unapologetic era in music, embracing her childhood influence of artists like Blink-182, Alanis Morissette and Avril Lavigne.

Her brand new single Uninvite Me releases Dec 3rd 2022.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for ARLi

Releases

There are no releases to display for ARLi.

Other Reviews By taffynz

Cautionary Tales - Single Review: Women
15 Jun 2023 // by taffynz
One of the things I love about this job is that music is such a giver. I listened to the opening first few bars of Cautionary Tales' new single release Women and I was nodding me old head along with the sinister, wonderfully balanced intro - then vocalist/keys man Will Marshall kicked in with his opening lines.
Read More...
Underwire - Single Review: Gravity
25 May 2023 // by taffynz
I like Underwire. I've been privileged to catch this Wellington-based punk/indie band live a number of times, going back a few years.
Read More...
Sounds Escape - Single Review: Haunted
22 May 2023 // by taffynz
Sounds Escape is the project band name of one-man show Logan Wedgwood. The release of the EP Echo Cinema sees Logan releasing the track Haunted as the EP's promo single.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - Single Review: Forever
19 May 2023 // by taffynz
80's! It was a place, not just a time.
Read More...
Andy White & Tim Finn - Album Review: AT
29 Mar 2023 // by taffynz
I still have my original late 70's 7" vinyl single of I Got You by Split Enz, despite emigrating to these shores in early 1997. I wasn't even a teenager in the late 70's.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Corazon
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. Pop isn't my bag.
Read More...
Chump Change - Single Review: Ocean Eyed Machine
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Oh, I'm getting a real knack for picking the ones that get my toes tappin'! With this single, Ocean Eyed Machine, Dunedin-based indie outfit Chump Change have delivered an ethereal delight that lives up to its billing of "summer hit" on the EPK I got sent.
Read More...
B O K E H - Single/Video Review: Simple Little Things
23 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
I seem to be picking up pop pieces recently. Lucky for me, I'm picking up quality commercial-standard work like this one, B O K E H's new single Simple Little Things.
Read More...
View All Articles By taffynz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem