3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

These Four Walls - Single/Video Review: Marigold

28 Nov 2022 // A review by Jack Grabham

I clicked the five stars score before putting a letter to type. Kiwi-born but Brisbane-based heavy rockers These Four Walls are a professional unit. No. Doubt. About. That.

Award winners over in Queensland (best song, White Lies, in 2021) and with trans-Tasman tours in support of Devilskin and The Butterfly Effect under their belts - not to mention support slots for Disturbed, Nickelback, Seether, Karnivool and more - one would expect an offering of tight, memorable riffs and guitar duets propped up by a beefy and aggressive bottom end with new single release Marigold. This single does not disappoint in any way there.

With Brad Vickers (drums) and Elliot Burton (bass) keeping the rhythm section going in thunder-god fashion, lead guitarist Gray Vickers and vocalist/guitarist Steve Gibb sit in, around, over and all around with a deeply memorable riff-based twin axe-attack. Mixed by Dead Letter Circus guitarist Luke Palmer and mastered by Leon Zervis at 301 Studios (the name Muse ring a bell?), the balance is perfect to the Nth degree. Steve Gibb's vocal performance puts me in mind (slightly) of Mike Patton, but that's not intended to take anything away from a pitch perfect delivery the timbre of which suits this music to a tee. Versatility in vocal style is shown too with a growl to compliment the melodic texture to the vocal.

The song itself? Composition is very cool, with a great drop that doesn't bring the song to a grinding halt but raises your head for a second, just in time for a second wave. Atmospheric and well timed. Lyrically intense and intriguing, it's a song full of character and interest.

And there's a video for me to review! Yay! Directed and shot by Dyllon Cross, edited by Dyllon and the bands drummer Brad Vickers, it's not cluttered, it doesn't try to tell a tale in abstract ways, and adds some imagery around the band playing that is enhancing of the overall visual effect and also the song it's providing the visual for. I like uncomplicated yet entertaining videos, and this hits home.

I love my hard rock to sound like this. Give them a listen. If you like this, they're playing Christchurch's 12 Bar on Friday 17th February 2023, and following up at the Ding Dong Lounge in Auckland the following night. Go see!

Long lost is the wishing well.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About These Four Walls

These Four Walls are a hard rock band originally formed in Auckland, New Zealand and now based on Queensland’s Gold Coast. They’ve recorded and released two full-length albums, Down Falls an Empire (2009) and Living to Write the End (2012), with their third album This Is Not A Future due for release on 24 April, 2020.

The band are well-known in both Australia and New Zealand for their live shows, which are typically tight, heavy and high-powered performances punctuated by powerful melodic vocals from singer Steve Gibb. Their well-earned reputation as a powerhouse live act has earned the band support slots for several touring international acts including Disturbed (USA), Nickelback (CAN), Trivium (USA), Seether (SA), P.O.D. (USA), Fuel (USA), Theory of A Deadman (CAN) and Trapt (USA), as well as top Australian rock acts Karnivool and The Butterfly Effect, and Kiwi bands such as Devilskin and Blacklistt.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for These Four Walls

Releases

This Is Not A Future
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Alternate Futures
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Live At Loose Stones Studios
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Living To Write The End
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Down Falls An Empire
Year: 2009
Type: Album
These Four Walls
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jack Grabham

Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Still Love You
26 Jan 2023 // by Jack Grabham
Here's the thing. I am a rock music fan, principally the 70's and 80's stuff.
Read More...
Soft Plastics - Single Review: Disembody
26 Jan 2023 // by Jack Grabham
A definite atmosphere builder. That's what I got from listening to Te Whanganui-a-Tara (Wellington to anyone reading from beyond these shores) indie three piece Soft Plastics new single Disembody.
Read More...
Nick Burson Band - Single Review: Best Dreams
07 Dec 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Christchurch's country blues rock artist Nick Burson returns with his band, giving us the third single from his soon to be released Hindsight album, Best Dreams. Nick is a very capable lyricist and vocalist.
Read More...
ARLi - Single Review: Uninvite Me
06 Dec 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Born Alice Foulds, ARLi is an Auckland-born and bred singer-songwriter who's been developing the sound we get here for the last seven years of writing and performing. Now, do I like this stuff enough to mark it highly?...
Read More...
Juliet McLean - EP Review: Amaze Me
24 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
A very introspective offering here from Taranaki based singer/songwriter Juliet McLean. The EP Amaze Me, named for its promo single release, is not my usual cup of tea - however, I have said before that music is a subjective creature and a thing of beauty to me might not be so for you...
Read More...
Tia Ward - Single Review: Ko Wai Ahau
18 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Divine. Taranaki, Ngati Maniapoto has given us the bewitching sound of Tia Ward.
Read More...
Finn Johansson - Single Review: You Look Down At Me
08 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
I am SO having a golden run with these reviews! Yet another that has sent me to that place I like to go.
Read More...
The Late Starters - Single Review: False Victim
31 Oct 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Okay, here's another belter. Christchurch's groovy rockers The Late Starters are releasing their new single False Victim on 1st November, and you need to hear it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jack Grabham

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem