22 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

These Four Walls - Single/Video Review: Marigold

28 Nov 2022 // A review by taffynz

I clicked the five stars score before putting a letter to type. Kiwi-born but Brisbane-based heavy rockers These Four Walls are a professional unit. No. Doubt. About. That.

Award winners over in Queensland (best song, White Lies, in 2021) and with trans-Tasman tours in support of Devilskin and The Butterfly Effect under their belts - not to mention support slots for Disturbed, Nickelback, Seether, Karnivool and more - one would expect an offering of tight, memorable riffs and guitar duets propped up by a beefy and aggressive bottom end with new single release Marigold. This single does not disappoint in any way there.

With Brad Vickers (drums) and Elliot Burton (bass) keeping the rhythm section going in thunder-god fashion, lead guitarist Gray Vickers and vocalist/guitarist Steve Gibb sit in, around, over and all around with a deeply memorable riff-based twin axe-attack. Mixed by Dead Letter Circus guitarist Luke Palmer and mastered by Leon Zervis at 301 Studios (the name Muse ring a bell?), the balance is perfect to the Nth degree. Steve Gibb's vocal performance puts me in mind (slightly) of Mike Patton, but that's not intended to take anything away from a pitch perfect delivery the timbre of which suits this music to a tee. Versatility in vocal style is shown too with a growl to compliment the melodic texture to the vocal.

The song itself? Composition is very cool, with a great drop that doesn't bring the song to a grinding halt but raises your head for a second, just in time for a second wave. Atmospheric and well timed. Lyrically intense and intriguing, it's a song full of character and interest.

And there's a video for me to review! Yay! Directed and shot by Dyllon Cross, edited by Dyllon and the bands drummer Brad Vickers, it's not cluttered, it doesn't try to tell a tale in abstract ways, and adds some imagery around the band playing that is enhancing of the overall visual effect and also the song it's providing the visual for. I like uncomplicated yet entertaining videos, and this hits home.

I love my hard rock to sound like this. Give them a listen. If you like this, they're playing Christchurch's 12 Bar on Friday 17th February 2023, and following up at the Ding Dong Lounge in Auckland the following night. Go see!

Long lost is the wishing well.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About These Four Walls

These Four Walls are a hard rock band originally formed in Auckland, New Zealand and now based on Queensland’s Gold Coast. They’ve recorded and released two full-length albums, Down Falls an Empire (2009) and Living to Write the End (2012), with their third album This Is Not A Future due for release on 24 April, 2020.

The band are well-known in both Australia and New Zealand for their live shows, which are typically tight, heavy and high-powered performances punctuated by powerful melodic vocals from singer Steve Gibb. Their well-earned reputation as a powerhouse live act has earned the band support slots for several touring international acts including Disturbed (USA), Nickelback (CAN), Trivium (USA), Seether (SA), P.O.D. (USA), Fuel (USA), Theory of A Deadman (CAN) and Trapt (USA), as well as top Australian rock acts Karnivool and The Butterfly Effect, and Kiwi bands such as Devilskin and Blacklistt.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for These Four Walls

Releases

This Is Not A Future
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Alternate Futures
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Live At Loose Stones Studios
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Living To Write The End
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Down Falls An Empire
Year: 2009
Type: Album
These Four Walls
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By taffynz

Cautionary Tales - Single Review: Women
15 Jun 2023 // by taffynz
One of the things I love about this job is that music is such a giver. I listened to the opening first few bars of Cautionary Tales' new single release Women and I was nodding me old head along with the sinister, wonderfully balanced intro - then vocalist/keys man Will Marshall kicked in with his opening lines.
Read More...
Underwire - Single Review: Gravity
25 May 2023 // by taffynz
I like Underwire. I've been privileged to catch this Wellington-based punk/indie band live a number of times, going back a few years.
Read More...
Sounds Escape - Single Review: Haunted
22 May 2023 // by taffynz
Sounds Escape is the project band name of one-man show Logan Wedgwood. The release of the EP Echo Cinema sees Logan releasing the track Haunted as the EP's promo single.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - Single Review: Forever
19 May 2023 // by taffynz
80's! It was a place, not just a time.
Read More...
Andy White & Tim Finn - Album Review: AT
29 Mar 2023 // by taffynz
I still have my original late 70's 7" vinyl single of I Got You by Split Enz, despite emigrating to these shores in early 1997. I wasn't even a teenager in the late 70's.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Corazon
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. Pop isn't my bag.
Read More...
Chump Change - Single Review: Ocean Eyed Machine
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Oh, I'm getting a real knack for picking the ones that get my toes tappin'! With this single, Ocean Eyed Machine, Dunedin-based indie outfit Chump Change have delivered an ethereal delight that lives up to its billing of "summer hit" on the EPK I got sent.
Read More...
B O K E H - Single/Video Review: Simple Little Things
23 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
I seem to be picking up pop pieces recently. Lucky for me, I'm picking up quality commercial-standard work like this one, B O K E H's new single Simple Little Things.
Read More...
View All Articles By taffynz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem