27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bird Machine - EP Review: Bird Machine

24 Nov 2022 // A review by Chris Chick

Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton. This alone is an amazing achievement to have made.

The first thing about this duo that stuck out to me is the obvious attention to detail in their music. Every beat and chord change, drum roll and voice harmonies are all spot on in my humble opinion. I am always astounded by how well produced music is in general, but this EP is superb from start to finish. The varied forms of sound that they have produced in just 5 songs means there is definitely something in there for all lovers of music.

Jenna’s voice is majestic and forms the blue print to what I would consider a very successful EP. The song Time and Space takes you on a beautiful journey through the kaleidoscope of life. Luke’s vocals later on in the song really add something quite different as the two voices seem to mould into one brain infusing pick me up.

The last song had a very early Coldplay feel to it, which from my perspective is a very positive. The choice of using a piano as the mainstay instrument lifts this EP to other levels of contentment that will inevitably allow you to use that comfy chair for more than just sleeping.

This a very well put together, great sounding EP, if easy listening, mood enhancing and dreamy sounds are something that you yearn for on a balmy mid-summer evening whilst being propped up by a hammock, this is definitely for you. Bird Machine should be very proud of their efforts to create something of value in a very masterful way. This ticks all the boxes when it comes to two crucial questions, does the music alter my mood in a good way? And would I recommend it to my Grandma? Definitely! Go out and have a listen today, you will not be disappointed.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Bird Machine

Bird Machine are Luke and Jenna Grbin, a pair of lovers from Geelong, Australia, and Hamilton, New Zealand. Combining distinct musical sensibilities, the current batch of songs reminisces on early 90's alt-rock with inflections of folk, wrapped up in plush pop melodies. Their jointly penned lyrics, at once commentative and introspective, shimmer within layered vocals above a swirling tapestry of guitars, keys, and syncopated beats. Vocals and instrumentation are composed, performed, recorded, and produced by the two in a little bedroom in the New Zealand suburbs.

Their first release A Lot of Love, is about embracing differences as a way of overcoming the polarization and conflict that permeates the globe right now. Layered, syncopated, and laid-back, this genre-fluid jam is a soulful and heartfelt debut.

Their next single, Our Kind, is set for independent release in the first half of 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bird Machine

Releases

There are no releases to display for Bird Machine.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem