22 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away

06 May 2022 // A review by Chris Chick

Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away.

This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it. No wonder the tag of surf rock accompanies this band, you can certainly feel the ‘Sumner’ vibes all the way through this song. Sumner has been renowned as the creative soul of Christchurch. This song has heart and soul in the truck load and just seems to keep on giving as it rolls on for four minutes. I like the fact the song makes subtle changes to keep the listening ear perked up, especially around the latter end of the song, it takes on a new life of its own.

I cannot feel a little ripped off at the end though. The song goes through a transition to some heavy six string strumming that inevitably means your head will naturally start doing that forward and back head bobbing that young people call a sign of a good song. All of a sudden the song just stops; I was almost awaiting the next stage of the song to go into overdrive to allow some moon stomping. Maybe this was the point of the song, maybe I was taken on that ride wanting more?

This song has great production value, the instruments are clear and precise as well as the lyrics. It is a well put together song which crosses numerous genres and will no doubt have many different admirers going forwards. Four very smart and talented chaps that deserve four minutes of your time to take a listen and not be disappointed. This definitely scores a strong 7 out of 10 for me, it would definitely have been an 8 if I was able to get an extra 30 seconds for some moon stomping.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Hootz

Hailing from Christchurch, New Zealand, lead writers Mitch Bowley-Black (Lead Guitarist) and Jahquinn Black (Vocals, Rhythm Guitar) have formed a soundscape that has taken the benchmark of Kiwi indie-rock and sent it into a jealous epiphany by blasting it with elements of coarse-reggae and husk vocalism, riding a wave of psychedelic embellishment. When combined with the low-end bop of bassist, Jayden Bowley, and drummer, Kasey Andrews, The Hootz define their own niche sound that slam dunks the norm of reggae.

Many shining reviews and praised local performances around New Zealand in 2020 catapulted The Hootz into the forefront of the local band industry due to a consistently unique and ecstatic performance. Cool and smooth stage antics that explode into an abundance of energy at a timely dynamic made their performance an easy crowd favourite in the New Zealand gig scene at events such as Go live, Tea Party and the Duke Surf Festival.

Following their debut EP in 2020, The Hootz released a single I Keep Falling (2021), a

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Hootz

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Hootz.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Ravenhall - Album Review: Brother
09 Feb 2024 // by Chris Chick
Listening to music should evoke an emotional response, to evoke a response that is both positive and uplifting is very difficult to do. I am sure those at the top of their game can argue that it is a talent that comes easy to them, but all the unseen variables that come into play through just living, making friends, going through the highs and lows of life.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Drift Away
08 Dec 2023 // by Chris Chick
The Furniss Brothers comes to us with the 12-track album Drift Away, which is really apropos to how my mind felt whilst listening to this beauty. I am not going to lie, at one point I was so relaxed, I feared my heart had stopped.
Read More...
Lost Tribe Aotearoa - EP Review: Lost & Found
14 Jun 2023 // by Chris Chick
I am a true ‘noob’ when it comes to the Lost Tribe Aotearoa, so I can assure you and the band that this will be as unbiased as possible. After hearing the first song, I think it is going to be hard to stay that way all the way through this review.
Read More...
Late to Chelsea - EP Review: LTC
17 Feb 2023 // by Chris Chick
When it comes to the soundtrack of anyone’s life, I am pretty sure the counter cultural sounds and motives of the punk movement would have influenced you at some time. Every generation needs its punk bands even if it's just the opportunity to not take yourself too seriously and enjoy the madness that is life and music.
Read More...
Corrella - Single Review: Skankin
09 Dec 2022 // by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies.
Read More...
EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem