8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away

06 May 2022 // A review by Chris Chick

Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away.

This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it. No wonder the tag of surf rock accompanies this band, you can certainly feel the ‘Sumner’ vibes all the way through this song. Sumner has been renowned as the creative soul of Christchurch. This song has heart and soul in the truck load and just seems to keep on giving as it rolls on for four minutes. I like the fact the song makes subtle changes to keep the listening ear perked up, especially around the latter end of the song, it takes on a new life of its own.

I cannot feel a little ripped off at the end though. The song goes through a transition to some heavy six string strumming that inevitably means your head will naturally start doing that forward and back head bobbing that young people call a sign of a good song. All of a sudden the song just stops; I was almost awaiting the next stage of the song to go into overdrive to allow some moon stomping. Maybe this was the point of the song, maybe I was taken on that ride wanting more?

This song has great production value, the instruments are clear and precise as well as the lyrics. It is a well put together song which crosses numerous genres and will no doubt have many different admirers going forwards. Four very smart and talented chaps that deserve four minutes of your time to take a listen and not be disappointed. This definitely scores a strong 7 out of 10 for me, it would definitely have been an 8 if I was able to get an extra 30 seconds for some moon stomping.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Hootz

Hailing from Christchurch, New Zealand, lead writers Mitch Bowley-Black (Lead Guitarist) and Jahquinn Black (Vocals, Rhythm Guitar) have formed a soundscape that has taken the benchmark of Kiwi indie-rock and sent it into a jealous epiphany by blasting it with elements of coarse-reggae and husk vocalism, riding a wave of psychedelic embellishment. When combined with the low-end bop of bassist, Jayden Bowley, and drummer, Kasey Andrews, The Hootz define their own niche sound that slam dunks the norm of reggae.

Many shining reviews and praised local performances around New Zealand in 2020 catapulted The Hootz into the forefront of the local band industry due to a consistently unique and ecstatic performance. Cool and smooth stage antics that explode into an abundance of energy at a timely dynamic made their performance an easy crowd favourite in the New Zealand gig scene at events such as Go live, Tea Party and the Duke Surf Festival.

Following their debut EP in 2020, The Hootz released a single I Keep Falling (2021), a

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Hootz

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Hootz.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem