3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corrella - Single Review: Skankin

09 Dec 2022 // A review by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies. Corrella’s new single Skankin is very good timing as we start to embrace the warm long summer evenings but does this single cut the mustard, does it evoke those summer emotions?

It is too hard for me to hide my true intentions, so let’s jump straight into this bad boy. Do you like dancing? Do you like the smooth groove of a true reggae sound? Then I do not need to tell you that this is a song you definitely need to listen to. It has everything, a very strong start that will pull you in with its deep bass line and a slight funk riff that sits nicely in the cauldrons of wonderfulness.

The percussion that accompanies this song is not overbearing but just perfect for the sound that Corrella are trying to bring to your ears. Much like the strong vocals that are at a constant wind throughout the song that is very easy on the ear and sticks close to the vibe of the song.

This is such a well put together song that is very well produced from the opening note, through the Bob Marley influences, to the final note that comes way to soon in my humble opinion. The song just drops off the cliff and you are scrambling to find the repeat button just in case the sun decides to drop out of the sky. I think you will be hard pressed to find a better reggae infused song this summer and one that keeps you joyful and happy through to the colder months. This song gets a strong 7.5 stars out of 10 for me and i would definitely let my Nan listen to this.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Corrella

Corrella are a 7-piece band based in Auckland, New Zealand.

They have a summery vibe to their music, which can be heard across Aotearoa. They take inspiration from bands like L.A.B, Six60 and Tomorrow People, while trying to create their own sound.

Corrella's music can be found on all major streaming platforms.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corrella

Releases

There are no releases to display for Corrella.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem