16 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corrella - Single Review: Skankin

09 Dec 2022 // A review by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies. Corrella’s new single Skankin is very good timing as we start to embrace the warm long summer evenings but does this single cut the mustard, does it evoke those summer emotions?

It is too hard for me to hide my true intentions, so let’s jump straight into this bad boy. Do you like dancing? Do you like the smooth groove of a true reggae sound? Then I do not need to tell you that this is a song you definitely need to listen to. It has everything, a very strong start that will pull you in with its deep bass line and a slight funk riff that sits nicely in the cauldrons of wonderfulness.

The percussion that accompanies this song is not overbearing but just perfect for the sound that Corrella are trying to bring to your ears. Much like the strong vocals that are at a constant wind throughout the song that is very easy on the ear and sticks close to the vibe of the song.

This is such a well put together song that is very well produced from the opening note, through the Bob Marley influences, to the final note that comes way to soon in my humble opinion. The song just drops off the cliff and you are scrambling to find the repeat button just in case the sun decides to drop out of the sky. I think you will be hard pressed to find a better reggae infused song this summer and one that keeps you joyful and happy through to the colder months. This song gets a strong 7.5 stars out of 10 for me and i would definitely let my Nan listen to this.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Corrella

Quickly making a name for themselves with their sun-soaked reggae-inspired sound, Corrella are fast becoming a new favourite on the Aotearoa music scene. Their single Blue Eyed M?ori is the sleeper hit of 2023, and the band are set to continue that momentum with new single Lady Divine.

Named for the naval-base where the band met, Corrella’s first release, their self-titled EP was released in 2021, announcing their arrival on the reggae-music scene. They wasted no time following up with a series on singles through 2022, including the track Raumati, which was featured as part of the Waiata Anthems 2022 series.

Skankin', the first single from their album, announced their arrival to the wider music scene, making an impact on New Zealand radio. May saw the release of their debut full-length album, Road From 26. The album is a powerful, modern & outright vibe which takes the listener on a journey from Corrella’s past to present. With their signature feel-good roots-reggae, the album sees them incorporating funk, soul & pop-rock sounds throughout.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corrella

Releases

Road From 26
Year: 2023
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Chasin Wolves - Album Review: Chasin Wolves
04 Apr 2024 // by Chris Chick
If you like your music hard, fast and in your face, this is the album for you. I had to bath myself three times after the first listen just to calm down my ever-increasing dopamine hit.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Album Review: Brother
09 Feb 2024 // by Chris Chick
Listening to music should evoke an emotional response, to evoke a response that is both positive and uplifting is very difficult to do. I am sure those at the top of their game can argue that it is a talent that comes easy to them, but all the unseen variables that come into play through just living, making friends, going through the highs and lows of life.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Drift Away
08 Dec 2023 // by Chris Chick
The Furniss Brothers comes to us with the 12-track album Drift Away, which is really apropos to how my mind felt whilst listening to this beauty. I am not going to lie, at one point I was so relaxed, I feared my heart had stopped.
Read More...
Lost Tribe Aotearoa - EP Review: Lost & Found
14 Jun 2023 // by Chris Chick
I am a true ‘noob’ when it comes to the Lost Tribe Aotearoa, so I can assure you and the band that this will be as unbiased as possible. After hearing the first song, I think it is going to be hard to stay that way all the way through this review.
Read More...
Late to Chelsea - EP Review: LTC
17 Feb 2023 // by Chris Chick
When it comes to the soundtrack of anyone’s life, I am pretty sure the counter cultural sounds and motives of the punk movement would have influenced you at some time. Every generation needs its punk bands even if it's just the opportunity to not take yourself too seriously and enjoy the madness that is life and music.
Read More...
EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem