20 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Late to Chelsea - EP Review: LTC

17 Feb 2023 // A review by Chris Chick

When it comes to the soundtrack of anyone’s life, I am pretty sure the counter cultural sounds and motives of the punk movement would have influenced you at some time. Every generation needs its punk bands even if it's just the opportunity to not take yourself too seriously and enjoy the madness that is life and music.

As you can imagine Late to Chelsea bring a myriad of hard hitting and at points very grungy sounding songs to wonderment of my ears. There is no denying their sound certainly does not disappoint this reviewers receptacles. The opening tracks do not disappoint as they embrace the high tempo and mosh pit madness that will ensue.

HEY HEY HEY! is a good old traditional punk song which will have you shouting out the proverbial line on numerous occasions. Try not to be like this reviewer and do it in the middle of a packed area, for some reason some people just don't like the punk infused cries. Not My Friend, the third song on the EP brings a nice mix of punk and rock together that is very easy on the ear even if the song is fall of inward turmoil about life.

Permanent Stankface Disorder takes a subtle turn in its sound and direct mention of a well-known billionaire who has etched his name in infamy when it comes to Late to Chelsea. I like its hip-hop undertone sound and a very Arctic Monkeys sounding riff that plays through the song. It is very catchy and different to the rest of the EP and definitely not to its detriment, if anything to making the EP stand out more.

All in all this is a great little EP for you punk rockers out there who enjoy high octane counter cultural sounds. I very much look forward to this band bringing out more songs in the future and hope to be in one of their pits come gig day. Well done guys and keep up the good work.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Late to Chelsea

Late to Chelsea are A 5-piece band from Auckland, New Zealand. Who guarantees a down-to-earth, fun show with plenty of tunes to sing along with and endless good times to be had.

Since their conception in 2019, Late to Chelsea has mastered being funny enough to distract gig-goers from how terrible their music is. They have been labelled as "The Worst Band in The World" by themselves and is a label they strive to live up to.

Late to Chelsea is known for its high-energy, interactive live shows that can have people laughing, crying, booing, dancing, moshing or violently hurling themselves at each other in a wall of death.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Late to Chelsea

Releases

LTC
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Chasin Wolves - Album Review: Chasin Wolves
04 Apr 2024 // by Chris Chick
If you like your music hard, fast and in your face, this is the album for you. I had to bath myself three times after the first listen just to calm down my ever-increasing dopamine hit.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Album Review: Brother
09 Feb 2024 // by Chris Chick
Listening to music should evoke an emotional response, to evoke a response that is both positive and uplifting is very difficult to do. I am sure those at the top of their game can argue that it is a talent that comes easy to them, but all the unseen variables that come into play through just living, making friends, going through the highs and lows of life.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Drift Away
08 Dec 2023 // by Chris Chick
The Furniss Brothers comes to us with the 12-track album Drift Away, which is really apropos to how my mind felt whilst listening to this beauty. I am not going to lie, at one point I was so relaxed, I feared my heart had stopped.
Read More...
Lost Tribe Aotearoa - EP Review: Lost & Found
14 Jun 2023 // by Chris Chick
I am a true ‘noob’ when it comes to the Lost Tribe Aotearoa, so I can assure you and the band that this will be as unbiased as possible. After hearing the first song, I think it is going to be hard to stay that way all the way through this review.
Read More...
Corrella - Single Review: Skankin
09 Dec 2022 // by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies.
Read More...
EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick
SELECT artists.ID as artist_id, artists.Name, sum(artists_stats.Count) as hitcount FROM artists, artists_stats WHERE artists_stats.Date > ('2024-07-19' - INTERVAL 14 DAY)-0 AND artists.ID = artists_stats.AID AND artists.Enabled = 'y' AND artists.Deleted = 'n' GROUP BY artists_stats.AID ORDER BY hitcount DESC, Name LIMIT 10

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem