21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Drift Away

08 Dec 2023 // A review by Chris Chick

The Furniss Brothers comes to us with the 12-track album Drift Away, which is really apropos to how my mind felt whilst listening to this beauty. I am not going to lie, at one point I was so relaxed, I feared my heart had stopped. This caused me to have a quick heart engaging running on the spot session to revitalise me.

The Lakeside (3rd song on the album) really caught my ear with a very cool sounding guitar groove through most of the 2nd half of the song. If anything, these guys have really perfected the art of slick sounding grooves that pitch perfectly with a range of different instruments, to say I am a little jealous of their musical prowess is an understatement.

Let's Plant A Tree (5th song) Naturally I gravitated to this song for its title as a tree hugger myself. It had a very beatlesque, hippie feel to it. A vibe I was hoping for and got with a song title as stated. It is amazing how different people gravitate.

Relative Calm (8th song) I really liked this instrumental piece, it is only just over two minutes long but fits very nicely into the whole album. It does not distort the mood of the album but certainly evokes a new mindful reaction from me, the listener. In a very cognitive way, it actually made me more excited to find out what will be coming next.

Sing Sang Sung (Bonus Track) is a cover of the French duo Air hit from 2009, like all good albums, having a cover that does the original justice, is always a welcomed bonus. Just like sitting down for your Sunday roast, and out comes your mother with the gravy to complete the meal, how could you not smile. If you are a fan of Neil Young, their cover of Don't Let It Bring You Down is also a very good take.

This has been my first exposure to this band and my first impressions are one of really good musicians who know how to put together a tight, wonderful sounding album. They should be as pleased as a child who has just managed to figure out the padlock code on the lolly box. The album brims with a lot of poignant lyrics and notions of a peaceful existence which should never be overlooked, especially in the times we find ourselves in the present day. A pat on the back for this timely album and a very strong B+ from me, your headmaster, this of course is not true but please do enjoy the symbolism.

 

About Furniss Brothers

Auckland musician and songwriter Ben Furniss (vocals, guitars, keyboards, production/engineering) formally of 60's tinged popsters Superturtle and Alt Country groups Broken Heartbreakers and White Swan Black Swan as well as Surrealistic, takes a diversion from singing in Psych Surf Trio Shady Brain Farm to produce albums, with Melbourne based sibling Matthew Furniss (drums and percussion, production) as a side step from Ben's main band Shady Brain Farm.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Furniss Brothers

Releases

Drift Away
Year: 2023
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Ravenhall - Album Review: Brother
09 Feb 2024 // by Chris Chick
Listening to music should evoke an emotional response, to evoke a response that is both positive and uplifting is very difficult to do. I am sure those at the top of their game can argue that it is a talent that comes easy to them, but all the unseen variables that come into play through just living, making friends, going through the highs and lows of life.
Read More...
Lost Tribe Aotearoa - EP Review: Lost & Found
14 Jun 2023 // by Chris Chick
I am a true ‘noob’ when it comes to the Lost Tribe Aotearoa, so I can assure you and the band that this will be as unbiased as possible. After hearing the first song, I think it is going to be hard to stay that way all the way through this review.
Read More...
Late to Chelsea - EP Review: LTC
17 Feb 2023 // by Chris Chick
When it comes to the soundtrack of anyone’s life, I am pretty sure the counter cultural sounds and motives of the punk movement would have influenced you at some time. Every generation needs its punk bands even if it's just the opportunity to not take yourself too seriously and enjoy the madness that is life and music.
Read More...
Corrella - Single Review: Skankin
09 Dec 2022 // by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies.
Read More...
EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem