27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tia Ward - Single Review: Ko Wai Ahau

18 Nov 2022 // A review by Jack Grabham

Divine. 

Taranaki, Ngati Maniapoto has given us the bewitching sound of Tia Ward. This young artist, nearing the end of her third year at Massey's music school, looks to have the goods already. With the kupu Ko Wai Ahau given to Tia by Tuhoe poet Matiu Tahi, Tia worked on the instrumentation with Toby Lloyd, who also engineered and mixed at Tiny Triumph Recordings. Chris Chetland mastered at KOG.

The melody is sweet and light. Orchestration is laid back, complete but not cluttered, and instruments wisely chosen and well positioned. Great instrumental mix.

The stat turn of this single, however, is the vocal. With a nicely places harmony section in all the right places, Tia's lead vocal is exquisite. I myself come from a traditionally tribal people, although mine is from the old world, and we also had to fight colonisation for centuries to retain our heritage, history and language. I understand where the love of singing in Te Reo comes from. And as an immigrant to these shores I can tell you that that language is truly beautiful and is in and of itself a treasure of these islands that all who call themselves children of Aotearoa New Zealand should safeguard. 

The subject matter is appreciation of moko kauae, how it is a taonga and its connection to whakapapa. Tia says it's her first Te Reo Waiata, and I am hoping it will be only the start of a long career singing in her native tongue. Alien Weaponry, Six60, Tia Ward. Make it happen for her. This song is indeed... divine.

Hollywood's Dream Teens!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Tia Ward

Tia Ward is a young, up-and-coming Maori artist born and raised in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. Growing up in a musical family Tia dreams of becoming the next big pop artist. Singing and performing her whole life, Tia has always had a passion for music and songwriting. Tia has so many stories she wishes to share and tell through her music, this is only just the beginning.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tia Ward

Releases

Me & Me Too
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jack Grabham

Juliet McLean - EP Review: Amaze Me
24 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
A very introspective offering here from Taranaki based singer/songwriter Juliet McLean. The EP Amaze Me, named for its promo single release, is not my usual cup of tea - however, I have said before that music is a subjective creature and a thing of beauty to me might not be so for you...
Read More...
Finn Johansson - Single Review: You Look Down At Me
08 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
I am SO having a golden run with these reviews! Yet another that has sent me to that place I like to go.
Read More...
The Late Starters - Single Review: False Victim
31 Oct 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Okay, here's another belter. Christchurch's groovy rockers The Late Starters are releasing their new single False Victim on 1st November, and you need to hear it.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Lose My Mind
22 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
In short, if I could give this a six out of five I would. Do I need to go on?
Read More...
Becca Caffyn - EP Review: The Replacement Blonde
22 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Dunedin-based singer-songwriter Becca Caffyn brings us her debut EP release The Replacement Blonde, a four song journey through pivotal experiences that have left their mark on her 19 years in this life. Produced by Christchurch-based Will McGillivray (Goodwill) and mastered by Joe Faris, Becca has traversed Parachute Music's great Artist Development initiative.
Read More...
Frau Knotz - Single/Video Review: Supernova
15 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Frau Knotz (Lauren Nottingham) has what her former Mexican host family would describe as cojones. She found herself stuck in Mexico City - not the world's most placid of places - for eight months during the height of the pandemic, thanks to a cruise ship gig being cancelled three days after she arrived there.
Read More...
Dolphin Friendly - Single/Video Review: Radical Desire
01 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
And BOOM! Christchurch rock band Dolphin Friendly's new release Radical Desire is right up my street.
Read More...
Citris iNK - Single Review: Knowing You're Mine
30 Aug 2022 // by Jack Grabham
This release is the debut single for Kristin and Nick, two highly experienced and focused musicians based out of the City of Sails. Titled Knowing You're Mine, it's an homage to their influences of old school R&B, blended with the neo-soul of today, and it could be described as smooth and professional, and ready for radio.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jack Grabham

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem