30 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tia Ward - Single Review: Ko Wai Ahau

18 Nov 2022 // A review by taffynz

Divine. 

Taranaki, Ngati Maniapoto has given us the bewitching sound of Tia Ward. This young artist, nearing the end of her third year at Massey's music school, looks to have the goods already. With the kupu Ko Wai Ahau given to Tia by Tuhoe poet Matiu Tahi, Tia worked on the instrumentation with Toby Lloyd, who also engineered and mixed at Tiny Triumph Recordings. Chris Chetland mastered at KOG.

The melody is sweet and light. Orchestration is laid back, complete but not cluttered, and instruments wisely chosen and well positioned. Great instrumental mix.

The stat turn of this single, however, is the vocal. With a nicely places harmony section in all the right places, Tia's lead vocal is exquisite. I myself come from a traditionally tribal people, although mine is from the old world, and we also had to fight colonisation for centuries to retain our heritage, history and language. I understand where the love of singing in Te Reo comes from. And as an immigrant to these shores I can tell you that that language is truly beautiful and is in and of itself a treasure of these islands that all who call themselves children of Aotearoa New Zealand should safeguard. 

The subject matter is appreciation of moko kauae, how it is a taonga and its connection to whakapapa. Tia says it's her first Te Reo Waiata, and I am hoping it will be only the start of a long career singing in her native tongue. Alien Weaponry, Six60, Tia Ward. Make it happen for her. This song is indeed... divine.

Hollywood's Dream Teens!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Tia Ward

Tia Ward is a young, up-and-coming Maori artist born and raised in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. Growing up in a musical family Tia dreams of becoming the next big pop artist. Singing and performing her whole life, Tia has always had a passion for music and songwriting. Tia has so many stories she wishes to share and tell through her music, this is only just the beginning.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tia Ward

Releases

Me & Me Too
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By taffynz

Cautionary Tales - Single Review: Women
15 Jun 2023 // by taffynz
One of the things I love about this job is that music is such a giver. I listened to the opening first few bars of Cautionary Tales' new single release Women and I was nodding me old head along with the sinister, wonderfully balanced intro - then vocalist/keys man Will Marshall kicked in with his opening lines.
Read More...
Underwire - Single Review: Gravity
25 May 2023 // by taffynz
I like Underwire. I've been privileged to catch this Wellington-based punk/indie band live a number of times, going back a few years.
Read More...
Sounds Escape - Single Review: Haunted
22 May 2023 // by taffynz
Sounds Escape is the project band name of one-man show Logan Wedgwood. The release of the EP Echo Cinema sees Logan releasing the track Haunted as the EP's promo single.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - Single Review: Forever
19 May 2023 // by taffynz
80's! It was a place, not just a time.
Read More...
Andy White & Tim Finn - Album Review: AT
29 Mar 2023 // by taffynz
I still have my original late 70's 7" vinyl single of I Got You by Split Enz, despite emigrating to these shores in early 1997. I wasn't even a teenager in the late 70's.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Corazon
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. Pop isn't my bag.
Read More...
Chump Change - Single Review: Ocean Eyed Machine
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Oh, I'm getting a real knack for picking the ones that get my toes tappin'! With this single, Ocean Eyed Machine, Dunedin-based indie outfit Chump Change have delivered an ethereal delight that lives up to its billing of "summer hit" on the EPK I got sent.
Read More...
B O K E H - Single/Video Review: Simple Little Things
23 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
I seem to be picking up pop pieces recently. Lucky for me, I'm picking up quality commercial-standard work like this one, B O K E H's new single Simple Little Things.
Read More...
View All Articles By taffynz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem