2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eden Iris - Single Review: Young Guest Feat. Lucie Hill

17 Nov 2022 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

I have followed Eden Iris since her (albeit brief) appearance on NZ X Factor in 2013, and I admire the way she has carved out her own path musically since then and created herself a life with music and songwriting well and truly at the heart of it. Proving she never really needed that glorified karaoke contest anyway! Residing predominantly in LA and more recently in California, Eden has been releasing singles on a regular basis over the past 8 years, culminating in her 2021 album The Fuchsia & The Grey.

Young Guest Feat. Lucie Hill will be her offering for 2022 and is a beautiful dreamy cross-continent collaboration, born of reconnection, co-written with Hill and self-produced by Eden Iris in her home studio, and featuring Lucie Hill (Little Lapin) on some of the vocals and backing vocals.

Upon first listen I was getting Massive Attack vibes due to the style of the production and the uncluttered but unrelenting off-beat. Eden Iris brings a modern synthy flavour to her folk singer-songwriter and indie roots, enabling her to create something quite unique. Her voice is sweet, intimate, and child-like … perfect for expressing the central theme of making peace with the inner child and accepting and loving one’s younger self unconditionally.

The track invokes a whimsical sense of mystery and charm, with great use of backing vocals and harmonies throughout, and ripples of reverb and delay in just the right places. The pre-chorus nicely builds tension before the chorus, which resolves with Hill’s beautifully delivered line “hiding in the silhouette, of a sycamore tree …” sometimes with an echo, and sometimes without, and then the last time with a gorgeous harmony accompanying it.

I like that about the production, it’s not a standard cookie-cutter formula. Eden keeps the song evolving and treats each moment as special and unique, keeping the listener’s ears fresh. She is an interesting artist. A little off-beat, with a child-like innocence and a mysterious side … I think the song does well as - almost a culmination of who she is all rolled into one track. As if that were ever possible! As artists, we can write a lifetime’s worth of songs and still feel like we haven’t quite been able to express everything that we wanted to.

This is a beautiful collab and well worth a listen or 10. Awesome creative work from a hard-working kiwi artist abroad.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Eden Iris

Eden Iris is an artist from Auckland, New Zealand who has been described as “an artist working in a new space” (Jordan Luck, The Exponents) who has “the ambition to carve out her own niche” (Demerra Records). She moved to Los Angeles, California when she was nineteen years-old to pursue her music career and has since made a home for herself on the west coast. In Los Angeles, Eden has collaborated with esteemed songwriters such as Maia Sharp (Dixie Chicks), Jamie Candiloro (REM, Ryan Adams) and Bruce Lynch (Kate Bush).

Working out of her home studio in Burbank, California, not a day that goes by that Eden isn’t writing, recording, or producing. Her Demons EP (2018) was described as “soul stirring, beautifully arranged and poignantly observed…” by Mike Alexander (Sunday Star Times) and received radio-play on Los Angeles Station 88.5 KCSN, along with three of her other singles (two of them being featured as “Fresh Squeeze of the Day” By DJ Nic Harcourt).

In 2019, the haunting folk/electronica song Dark Sunday Dream found it’s cult following after being picked up by indie-folk playlist Alex Rainbird, with over half a million subscribers on YouTube. Dark Sunday Dream has also had regular rotation on Radio Paradise and has received critical acclaim by indie-folk blogs around the world. Eden’s single Worse Things (November 2019) which was co-written with Maia Sharp, premiered with Billboard and American Songwriter Magazine. With the steady release of these singles over the past year, Eden is building a strong fanbase who highly anticipate the release of her debut album in January, 2021.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eden Iris

Releases

The Fuchsia & The Grey
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Dream Colored Life
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Demons
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Gig Review: Fur Patrol @ San Fran, Wellington - 27/08/2022
29 Aug 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I finally arrived at San Fran just on 8pm, a little grumpy after spending 30+ minutes driving around trying to find a park in Wellington city, where, like many other cities around New Zealand, the councils have decided to eliminate as many parking spaces as possible with bollards, flower pots, bus stops, loading zones, road works, or just by erecting scaffolding barriers for no apparent reason!! The venue was wall-to-wall full, and I marveled that all these people had managed to find parking spaces also.
Read More...
Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926
19 Jul 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That
25 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote.
Read More...
Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michèle Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem