2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pieces Of Molly - Album Review: Pieces Of Molly

09 Nov 2022 // A review by Carl Hayman

Have you ever heard a tune for the very first time, and within 10 seconds been like "holy crap this is insane, where did this come from???" Very few bands that I listen to ever give me that massive burst in energy like i got when opening the very first track Atomic Fuzz on Pieces Of Molly’s brand new self-titled album.

I know I’m probably starting to show my age here, but if you could imagine a mix of Supergrass, Wolfmother, and The D4, you’re probably heading in the right direction of what Pieces Of Molly sound like, and maybe just to spice things up, increase it by about 40bpm, and make sure the drummer has had at least 7 Red Bull’s and a shot of Jägermeister before turning up to band practice, then add another layer of distortion to the entire band.

The lead guitar performance is flawless through the entire album (in fairness, everything is). It leads the tunes, but it isn’t the glue that holds everything in-tact. The riffs are definitely there, but the songs aren’t riff based, they are wholly and entirely lead from the back by Doug on bass and Sam on rhythm guitar with the lead just popping into guide each verse and chorus and set the tone, then casually wandering into the back room, grabbing a flamethrower, wandering back in, and setting fire to everything in the room.

As I stated earlier, Kurt the drummer is a busy man. Extremely calculated. For me this is the highlight of the album as that’s the bands source of power and energy. Without the amount of drive coming from the back, the band would really struggle to amalgamate all of those synergistic tones and get the same thrashy outcome without sounding overly messy.

Vocals over the top are exactly what are needed. Ewen’s voice compliments the amount of shred that comes from his guitar with this incredible relationship that is a match made in heaven. It’s raw, its powerful, it’s a touch harsh, and its edgy as hell.

Highlights for me? – Don’t Shine A Light Into The Dark, and I Don’t Wanna which funnily enough are the two debut tunes off the album that are also their hit singles. For me I also really enjoyed Eyes Of Time as for me it branches off to bring a few other rock elements to the table that I don’t hear too much in the other songs, but it’s clear that these guys are insanely good musicians and all bring their own creativity to the show. That’s the bit that makes them stand out over almost any other kiwi band I’ve heard for the last 5 years.

Final verdict? Guilty of producing an album that shreds.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Pieces Of Molly

Mind Altering Riff Hypnotists, Pieces Of Molly hail from Christchurch, New Zealand.

Their attraction is undeniable, their sound is one to be reckoned with. High octane primal Rock n Roll.

Pieces of Molly are preparing for the release of their highly anticipated debut album, late October 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pieces Of Molly

Releases

Pieces of Molly
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Vol. 2
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Pieces of Molly
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
Mat Gat - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem