27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Late Starters - Single Review: False Victim

31 Oct 2022 // A review by Jack Grabham

Okay, here's another belter. Christchurch's groovy rockers The Late Starters are releasing their new single False Victim on 1st November, and you need to hear it. Leading in is the bass line from Paul Mallons, then the guitars and percussion come in with a summer-laden, feel-good vibe, courtesy of Lowell Mallon (lead gat), Ian Cartwright (rhythm gat and lyricist) and Scott Lucas (drums). 

When David Stacks vocal enters the fray you know you're listening to a band that has looked for and eked out its sound. What a singer! 

The track was recorded, mixed and mastered at Cannon Hill by Steve Fowler. If I have one criticism it's that the guitars are a tad too light, too trebly - putting me in mind of the likes of Poison's Nothin' But A Good Time. I do feel mean saying that though, as the track runs beautifully, is orchestrated well, composed very pleasantly and I found my head bopping along with it before I knew it was a' happenin'.

The trebly guitar comment doesn't take away from how cool this song is though. With high profile support slots on their CV (The Jordan Luck Band, for example) and up-coming show at The Good Home Ferrymead on Saturday 19th November, and the Otautahi Smoke BBQ Festival in December, the guys will have ample opportunity to air this one for you. My advice would be to get out the Les Paul's and see how the guitars sound with some more bottom end for the live shows. The song will be a slayer no matter what.

Do a video! This one needs to be seen. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Greed has been crowned the new king.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Late Starters

Christchurch band The Late Starters formed and recorded their first album, Age – A State of Mind, in 2019, primarily to tick their songwriters bucket list item of releasing an album of original songs for his 50th birthday. With a nod back to the 80's and evident Kiwi influences, their sound has been described as “an enjoyable nostalgic trip into the future.”

Their first single Ohau, was voted number 21 in Brisbane based Regular Radio’s Independent Hottest 100 songs of 2019.

Since 2019, the band has continued to play live regularly, including opening for The Jordan Luck Band in October 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Late Starters

Releases

Age: A State of Mind
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jack Grabham

Juliet McLean - EP Review: Amaze Me
24 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
A very introspective offering here from Taranaki based singer/songwriter Juliet McLean. The EP Amaze Me, named for its promo single release, is not my usual cup of tea - however, I have said before that music is a subjective creature and a thing of beauty to me might not be so for you...
Read More...
Tia Ward - Single Review: Ko Wai Ahau
18 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Divine. Taranaki, Ngati Maniapoto has given us the bewitching sound of Tia Ward.
Read More...
Finn Johansson - Single Review: You Look Down At Me
08 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
I am SO having a golden run with these reviews! Yet another that has sent me to that place I like to go.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Lose My Mind
22 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
In short, if I could give this a six out of five I would. Do I need to go on?
Read More...
Becca Caffyn - EP Review: The Replacement Blonde
22 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Dunedin-based singer-songwriter Becca Caffyn brings us her debut EP release The Replacement Blonde, a four song journey through pivotal experiences that have left their mark on her 19 years in this life. Produced by Christchurch-based Will McGillivray (Goodwill) and mastered by Joe Faris, Becca has traversed Parachute Music's great Artist Development initiative.
Read More...
Frau Knotz - Single/Video Review: Supernova
15 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Frau Knotz (Lauren Nottingham) has what her former Mexican host family would describe as cojones. She found herself stuck in Mexico City - not the world's most placid of places - for eight months during the height of the pandemic, thanks to a cruise ship gig being cancelled three days after she arrived there.
Read More...
Dolphin Friendly - Single/Video Review: Radical Desire
01 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
And BOOM! Christchurch rock band Dolphin Friendly's new release Radical Desire is right up my street.
Read More...
Citris iNK - Single Review: Knowing You're Mine
30 Aug 2022 // by Jack Grabham
This release is the debut single for Kristin and Nick, two highly experienced and focused musicians based out of the City of Sails. Titled Knowing You're Mine, it's an homage to their influences of old school R&B, blended with the neo-soul of today, and it could be described as smooth and professional, and ready for radio.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jack Grabham

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem