22 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Late Starters - Single Review: False Victim

31 Oct 2022 // A review by taffynz

Okay, here's another belter. Christchurch's groovy rockers The Late Starters are releasing their new single False Victim on 1st November, and you need to hear it. Leading in is the bass line from Paul Mallons, then the guitars and percussion come in with a summer-laden, feel-good vibe, courtesy of Lowell Mallon (lead gat), Ian Cartwright (rhythm gat and lyricist) and Scott Lucas (drums). 

When David Stacks vocal enters the fray you know you're listening to a band that has looked for and eked out its sound. What a singer! 

The track was recorded, mixed and mastered at Cannon Hill by Steve Fowler. If I have one criticism it's that the guitars are a tad too light, too trebly - putting me in mind of the likes of Poison's Nothin' But A Good Time. I do feel mean saying that though, as the track runs beautifully, is orchestrated well, composed very pleasantly and I found my head bopping along with it before I knew it was a' happenin'.

The trebly guitar comment doesn't take away from how cool this song is though. With high profile support slots on their CV (The Jordan Luck Band, for example) and up-coming show at The Good Home Ferrymead on Saturday 19th November, and the Otautahi Smoke BBQ Festival in December, the guys will have ample opportunity to air this one for you. My advice would be to get out the Les Paul's and see how the guitars sound with some more bottom end for the live shows. The song will be a slayer no matter what.

Do a video! This one needs to be seen. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Greed has been crowned the new king.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Late Starters

Christchurch band The Late Starters formed and recorded their first album, Age – A State of Mind, in 2019, primarily to tick their songwriters bucket list item of releasing an album of original songs for his 50th birthday. With a nod back to the 80's and evident Kiwi influences, their sound has been described as “an enjoyable nostalgic trip into the future.”

Their first single Ohau, was voted number 21 in Brisbane based Regular Radio’s Independent Hottest 100 songs of 2019.

Since 2019, the band has continued to play live regularly, including opening for The Jordan Luck Band in October 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Late Starters

Releases

Age: A State of Mind
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By taffynz

Cautionary Tales - Single Review: Women
15 Jun 2023 // by taffynz
One of the things I love about this job is that music is such a giver. I listened to the opening first few bars of Cautionary Tales' new single release Women and I was nodding me old head along with the sinister, wonderfully balanced intro - then vocalist/keys man Will Marshall kicked in with his opening lines.
Read More...
Underwire - Single Review: Gravity
25 May 2023 // by taffynz
I like Underwire. I've been privileged to catch this Wellington-based punk/indie band live a number of times, going back a few years.
Read More...
Sounds Escape - Single Review: Haunted
22 May 2023 // by taffynz
Sounds Escape is the project band name of one-man show Logan Wedgwood. The release of the EP Echo Cinema sees Logan releasing the track Haunted as the EP's promo single.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - Single Review: Forever
19 May 2023 // by taffynz
80's! It was a place, not just a time.
Read More...
Andy White & Tim Finn - Album Review: AT
29 Mar 2023 // by taffynz
I still have my original late 70's 7" vinyl single of I Got You by Split Enz, despite emigrating to these shores in early 1997. I wasn't even a teenager in the late 70's.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Corazon
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Here's the thing. Pop isn't my bag.
Read More...
Chump Change - Single Review: Ocean Eyed Machine
24 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
Oh, I'm getting a real knack for picking the ones that get my toes tappin'! With this single, Ocean Eyed Machine, Dunedin-based indie outfit Chump Change have delivered an ethereal delight that lives up to its billing of "summer hit" on the EPK I got sent.
Read More...
B O K E H - Single/Video Review: Simple Little Things
23 Feb 2023 // by taffynz
I seem to be picking up pop pieces recently. Lucky for me, I'm picking up quality commercial-standard work like this one, B O K E H's new single Simple Little Things.
Read More...
View All Articles By taffynz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem