25 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Heavy Chest - Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926

19 Jul 2022 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith. 

Heavy Chest have been a long-time permanent feature on my favourite playlist, so when I first put Sunday926 on to begin reviewing it, I was not hearing the Heavy Chest sound that I'm familiar with. That is, until Smith's unique and instantly recognisable voice chimes in, smooth and comforting, with those signature melodies and slides. I was spellbound by the second listen. 

I love the production on this track; kicking off with a low-fi soft-shoe beat, with dollops of buttery synth rippling out into distant vocal echoes that shimmer and sparkle. BENEE's voice is captivating as it wavers and dips in her most unusual vocal style, and the blend is very satisfying with Smith's voice adding strength and stability to the vocal mix in the chorus.

After a short bridge section sung in tandem, the track breaks right down to just the beat for 4 bars, and it's genius. Coming back in with BENEE alone singing the chorus, she squeezes and chokes out each syllable in her unique way; so close and intimate it's like she's whispering right into my ear. It's absolutely beautiful to listen to. 

Sunday926 is an enchanted state that I want to stay in forever. Perfectly capturing the respective styles of these two icons of New Zealand music, and blending them together in a delicious dream-pop soundscape. It's both mesmerising and addictive.

A massive well done to Heavy Chest, who are currently touring. I wish them every success with their tour and this gorgeous single.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Heavy Chest

Heavy Chest was started as a solo project by Andre Smith in 2017, but since the first solo shows in Wellington, the band has evolved into a dreamy three-piece live experience. The release of debut album Pre Heat in 2017 marked a change in the lineup backed now by Josh Brown (drums) and Joseph Shepheard (bass), and since then the band have put together an impressive catalogue of live shows and sonic releases.

April 2020 saw Heavy Chest take to the road with their new EP Zoom&Enhance to traverse width and breadth of this beloved Aotearoa, on their most expansive national tour to date.

The band's first release in nearly two years; Zoom&Enhance was recorded in Wairarapa near Lake Ferry, and the result of the band's first time collaborating on a recording project together (with previous releases completed by front man Andre Smith).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Heavy Chest

Releases

There are no releases to display for Heavy Chest.

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Thomas Powers - Album Review: A Tyrant Crying In Private
01 Jun 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This stunning 14-track debut solo album from Thomas Powers, of The Naked and Famous fame; A Tyrant Crying in Private is intense yet delicate, holding sadness and beauty in equal measure, deliciously gorgeous in all its glitched and distorted goodness. Parts of the album feel very heavy emotionally, particularly the neo-classical instrumental pieces, which have a vast cinematic effect.
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Album Review: A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac
25 Apr 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
If I could choose one word to sum up Ha The Unclear’s recent album release I would have to go with the word “inspiring”. And if I could throw a few more together in a kind of haphazard stream-of-consciousness way, I would add that A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac is oozing with creativity, quirky humour, plumbing the depths of musical understanding, and coming back up to the surface with a gift - permission to be one’s authentic self.
Read More...
SNRXG - EP Review: True Story
06 Nov 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Huntly born and raised artist SNRXG keeps the quality tracks coming with this 6-track EP True Story. Collaborating with top-notch local talent, the production on all of these tracks is mint.
Read More...
Phorrest - EP Review: On My Way
19 Sep 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Tuning into the new EP from Auckland hip hop artist Phorrest, the intro track does well to set the scene for the rest of the EP. But wait, why is the title track of the EP in brackets and labeled Intro (On My Way!
Read More...
day13n - Single Review: PA1N x SAG3
11 Jul 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Listening to Day13n’s new single PA1N x SAG3 is the stuff of nightmares, with a dark and edgy musicality underpinning the intensely whisper-screamed lyrics. The song is divided into two halves, which nicely illustrates the forces of duality that are at play in the mind of the artist.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Seem Alright
21 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This week Will McClean releases Seem Alright, the second track from his upcoming album Don’t Forget To Breathe, alongside an accompanying video clip. Seem Alright is a punchy upbeat jazz-funk hip-hop track that has been nicely arranged, with a dash of clarinet, strings, and a sampled jazz vocal for the chorus.
Read More...
Jaqualyn Taimana Williams - EP Review: Guns of Dialogue
20 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Successful children’s music creator Jaqualyn Taimana Williams has recently released a 5-track EP called Guns of Dialogue to follow up her 2019 multi-genre album Statues of Liberty. Guns of Dialogue has a great rock vibe overall, with a fusion of various other elements woven throughout its tracks.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Meow, Wellington - 28/05/2023
30 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
It’s been a good while since I’ve been to a gig at Meow, Wellington, so the first thing I do is weave my way through the growing crowd to get a good look at the size and layout of the stage. It’s nicely raised and fairly spacious, more spacious than I remembered actually!
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem