17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy

03 Jul 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.

From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.E.R.D and Justin Timberlake, with the falsetto vocal over the top of the clean staccato guitar and a beat that sits between it all.

The production from this super group made up of Sam V, JARNA, Aidan Fine, BrokeBoi Ace, AceEDY, CreationKIT and M4 is evident. There are layers here, yet subtle enough to not steal away from the smooth vocals, listen for the sparse use of the electric piano, ad-lib vocal and strings. There is certainly a vibe that exists and Y$O come at it from a few different angles. For example, around the 2-minute moment, the feel of the beat changes to accommodate the softly delivered rap.

Building on the established tracks like Cotton Candy and MIA, So Sexy yet again proves again that this team understands production and clever songwriting while honouring those that have influenced their sound.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Y$O

Sam V, JARNA, Aidan Fine and BrokeBoi Ace work in tandem with producers EDY, M4 & CreationKit to form the most exciting young stable of talent in New Zealand. An eclectic blend of R&B and Hip Hop, the Y$O hounds look set to disrupt the airwaves of NZ with their string of upcoming releases. The first being a collaboration between Sam V and Aidan Fine (MIA).

Catch them before it's too late.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Y$O

Releases

Young And $lept On
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem