29 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia

06 Jan 2023 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.

From the get go, the hook of the song is catchy and will have you get stuck in your head. “Even when it’s raining, you are my sunny day, And even if the sun don’t shine, I know that everything’s ok”. Featuring his nephews and nieces who were involved with both the music video and the music itself, Swizl describes this whole project as a whanau effort.

Electric piano gently lays across a soft beat. It is the sort of beat you can vibe to which is perfect as in this case the song is dedicated to his grandmother. “The second verse is about no matter what I go through in life, I know that she’s always there with me even though she’s not physically here."

Other than the lyrics in the intro and outro, the whole song is completely in Te Reo. Swizl explained to Te Ao Maori News, “I enlisted the help of my bro Raniera, who translated the song, and then it ended up getting funding from Te Mangai Paho for the song and the video.”

The lyric video is wonderfully illustrated and captures the feel of the song perfectly.

Swizl has been around for a long time in the NZ Music scene, having started off in nu-metal and hardcore bands, yet his love for hip-hop is real and true as is shown here in this new track which you should be sure to add to your playlists over the summer and beyond.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Swizl Jager

Swizl Jager - an Auckland based emcee originally from Papamoa. He started off in nu metal and hardcore bands, but always had a love for hip-hop.

After winning a trip to Las Vegas by writing, directing, and editing a music video for a Burgerfuel competition (all in the span of 2 days), he decided it was time to take things more seriously, planning his assault on the world slowly and carefully.

2012 saw the emergence of Swizl Jager as a force to be reckoned with, writing songs and shooting music videos, as well as collaborating with other up and coming Kiwi artists. Now, it's all go, playing shows all over NZ & Australia.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Swizl Jager

Releases

#IllaMyNgati
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem