24 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia

06 Jan 2023 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.

From the get go, the hook of the song is catchy and will have you get stuck in your head. “Even when it’s raining, you are my sunny day, And even if the sun don’t shine, I know that everything’s ok”. Featuring his nephews and nieces who were involved with both the music video and the music itself, Swizl describes this whole project as a whanau effort.

Electric piano gently lays across a soft beat. It is the sort of beat you can vibe to which is perfect as in this case the song is dedicated to his grandmother. “The second verse is about no matter what I go through in life, I know that she’s always there with me even though she’s not physically here."

Other than the lyrics in the intro and outro, the whole song is completely in Te Reo. Swizl explained to Te Ao Maori News, “I enlisted the help of my bro Raniera, who translated the song, and then it ended up getting funding from Te Mangai Paho for the song and the video.”

The lyric video is wonderfully illustrated and captures the feel of the song perfectly.

Swizl has been around for a long time in the NZ Music scene, having started off in nu-metal and hardcore bands, yet his love for hip-hop is real and true as is shown here in this new track which you should be sure to add to your playlists over the summer and beyond.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Swizl Jager

Swizl Jager, brings a refreshing energy to urban music in Aotearoa. With his bi-lingual (Te Reo M?ori & English) lyrics and a metal background, Swizl Jager is able to adapt and produce a wide range of music. Born and raised in Tauranga Moana (of Ngaiterangi and Te Rarawa descent), he is currently residing in Auckland.

His fresh approach captures crowds from young to old and all other walks of life. He has had songs featured on a range of TV shows including 'Find Me a M?ori Bride', 'Moko Aotearoa' and 'This is Piki' to name a few.

Swizl Jager holds a solid fanbase all around the motu, and the respect of a lot of Aotearoa’s biggest names in music & film. Swizl Jager is not afraid of the stage either, he has performed solidly all around the motu and Australia widening the reach of his music through the unparalleled energy he brings in his live show performances.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Swizl Jager

Releases

#IllaMyNgati
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

SKILAA - Album Review: Tiger In The River
04 Jul 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
SKILAA’s sound is a unique blend of RnB, alternative, progressive folk, and hip-hop. The band began writing together in late 2017 after meeting through Auckland University’s Jazz programme.
Read More...
Aotearoa Music Awards 2024
02 Jun 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
Thursday 30 May, 2024 was a wonderful night for our music industry. The Aotearoa Music Awards were being held for the first time at the Viaduct Event Centre, and for the first time in two years.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Album Review: Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up
30 May 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
The opening track of Dan Sharp's album named Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up sounds familiar in a good way. It's like coming home after a long day, with cold weather and rain, but opening a door to warmth and comfort.
Read More...
Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem