29 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That

25 May 2022 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote. And it came out spontaneously and almost “fully formed”, with the demo recording of that initial jam being very close to the final recording.


Recorded at Rhythm Ace Studios, producer and sound engineer Sam Johnson basically recorded the single live, and they all agree, that seems to be the best way to capture the band's energy, fire, and creative spark.

Suck On That bursts into life with guitars, drums, and bass all-in for that first big hit of the intro, then stripping back to just the guitar skank for a couple of bars, then the drums bring the band back in for the second big hit before the song finally finds its stride, and settles into that laid-back reggae-rock vibe. A good intro sets the scene for a song, and a clever one becomes really recognisable from the very first note, and Skank Bandit have done a really good job here.

Singer Wes James created a cool video clip to accompany the track which captures the whole vibe of the song really well, too. The perfectly timed shoe drop syncing bang-on with the opening smash. The clip sets off from home by bicycle, holding a phone in one hand, and capturing the beauty of the local Ngamotu/New Plymouth area. It has a really local home-grown feel and was filmed at the perfect time of the evening to capture that beautiful sunset.

Coming out of the feelings of frustration, boredom, and isolation of lockdown, the song has a slightly melancholy feel which reflects that “groundhog day” feeling we all experienced during lockdown. The opening line of the song “It doesn’t matter if it’s a Tuesday or a Saturday …” will be fully relatable for most of us!

Guitarist Tecwyn King creates some very cool soundscapes throughout the track. I’d be interested to know what pedals he’s using, as some of the sounds are hard to tell if it’s actually a guitar or a synth with a modulator wheel! The outro is really nice too, slowing to a psychedelic spacey finish with a feel-good conclusion. Very nice. My only little constructive criticism (as I try to add that in a review too) is the song could have possibly done with a change of some sort, a bridge, or a change of vocal melody, as the song was a little samey all the way through.

Suck On That is the first single from the band’s second studio-recorded album, the first album being Blood, Sweat and Beers. The plan is to release singles until the whole album is available, with live shows planned in the coming months. A solid plan! Great track and I am keen to hear more, and to catch Skank Bandit live at some point. 

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Skank Bandit

A genre bending smorgasbord of energetic grooves and soulful melody.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skank Bandit

Releases

Blood, Sweat & Beers
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Dreamtime
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Eden Iris - Single Review: Young Guest Feat. Lucie Hill
17 Nov 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I have followed Eden Iris since her (albeit brief) appearance on NZ X Factor in 2013, and I admire the way she has carved out her own path musically since then and created herself a life with music and songwriting well and truly at the heart of it. Proving she never really needed that glorified karaoke contest anyway!
Read More...
Gig Review: Fur Patrol @ San Fran, Wellington - 27/08/2022
29 Aug 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I finally arrived at San Fran just on 8pm, a little grumpy after spending 30+ minutes driving around trying to find a park in Wellington city, where, like many other cities around New Zealand, the councils have decided to eliminate as many parking spaces as possible with bollards, flower pots, bus stops, loading zones, road works, or just by erecting scaffolding barriers for no apparent reason!! The venue was wall-to-wall full, and I marveled that all these people had managed to find parking spaces also.
Read More...
Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926
19 Jul 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michele Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem