8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Taiotims - Single Review: All For You

28 Apr 2022 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?

Music is such an important vehicle of expression for guys and I especially love hearing them express their inner thoughts and emotions through music, whether good or bad. I would never be one to complain about an over-abundance of males in the industry because it’s so very important to have these healthy forms of expression. And plus, they are so good at it! More men in music I say!

All For You features a female R&B-style vocal for the chorus and Timaloa comes in with his smooth flow and unique delivery that is very much his own personal style and flavour. It’s raunchy at the same time as being tender, as he expresses his gratitude for his partner’s love and support through hard times. I really like the sound of his voice and the way he delivers the lines. It’s real and raw and true.

Taio is an Auckland-based independent Hip-Hop artist who has been working hard to perfect his craft, and when comparing the two releases in 2021 to this one; the first for 2022, I can hear the progress coming through. There is a sense of class emerging with the addition of the female vocal, and those production skills going from strength to strength. Nothing is overdone, it’s clean and uncomplicated, with just some simple stops and vocal interaction with the chorus adding enough interest and variation, which is all the production value the track needs. It allows the lyrics and the message to shine.

Great to see Timaloa’s development as an artist, and the confidence accompanying those clever and sassy lyrics. Taiotims is saying “Hey, this is me, and I’m proud of it”. There is a warmth and a strength in who he is, and it’s great to see. Keep up the good work, love it!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Taiotims

Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats. Over the years Taiotims has perfected his craft by infusing the styles of his biggest influences (J. Cole, Andre 3000 and Kendrick Lamar) and molding it in to his own. Taiotims engineers his own vocals, and has received recognition from Local artists such as Scribe, Tom Scott (Home Brew), Lucky Lance, Che Fu, Diggy Dupe, Rizvan and Poetik.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Taiotims

Releases

Thank You For Your Patience
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Eden Iris - Single Review: Young Guest Feat. Lucie Hill
17 Nov 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I have followed Eden Iris since her (albeit brief) appearance on NZ X Factor in 2013, and I admire the way she has carved out her own path musically since then and created herself a life with music and songwriting well and truly at the heart of it. Proving she never really needed that glorified karaoke contest anyway!
Read More...
Gig Review: Fur Patrol @ San Fran, Wellington - 27/08/2022
29 Aug 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I finally arrived at San Fran just on 8pm, a little grumpy after spending 30+ minutes driving around trying to find a park in Wellington city, where, like many other cities around New Zealand, the councils have decided to eliminate as many parking spaces as possible with bollards, flower pots, bus stops, loading zones, road works, or just by erecting scaffolding barriers for no apparent reason!! The venue was wall-to-wall full, and I marveled that all these people had managed to find parking spaces also.
Read More...
Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926
19 Jul 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That
25 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote.
Read More...
Michèle Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem