8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Michèle Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto

06 Apr 2022 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.

The song bursts into life utilising an effective pre-delay on the vocals that wooshes in, and gives the intro a kind-of mystical, spooky atmosphere … “I feel him creeping up on the window …” I’m getting Billie Eilish vibes. The scene is set.

As the pre-chorus builds, a more sassy and seductive character works the camera like a boss. The tension rises to its apex in the chorus, as a slightly twisted scene unfolds on screen. The chorus is upbeat and catchy and has a real club dance-track vibe. And with its slick production it would certainly be at home in any club or EDM event.

Manifesto drops back into halftime for the second verse, building into the pre-chorus and chorus again, which feels a little rinse and repeat, but the core of the song is suspense and drama, so I get why Ducray has done it that way. It might have been good to bring in some variation of the beat to keep the dancefloor pumping, perhaps. But that’s just me.

The bridge is dark and suspenseful, and leads us into a breakdown with a twist; the point that the hunter becomes the hunted. And the person we thought was vulnerable, is actually the one with twisted motives. Yeah, it’s a bit of a tired trope, but young people still think it’s edgy I guess?

Ducray performs really well in the clip and clearly has some great acting skills and is comfortable in front of the camera, and not to mention also has a gorgeous voice with beautiful tones, depth, and subtleties. I would love to see her come into her own as an artist, as she grows in her own creativity and sense of personal originality. Well done on all the work that has been put into this project, it's a great result.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Michèle Ducray

Originally from the humble shores of Durban, South Africa, Michèle Ducray is a versatile, fiery vocalist and singer-songwriter. She began writing and singing her own songs at the tender age of 11, whilst based overseas in China. Travelling to many different places around the world at such a young age, exposed her to a variety of music. She drew inspiration from these experiences, settling on an alternative pop sound and applied them to her own musical endeavours. When Michèle writes, she tends to draw from her own experiences in life and utilises this through metaphorical subconscious imagery, aiming to leave her audience feeling like they have lived through these moments, themselves.

After gaining a better understanding of musical theory, In 2019, Michèle sought to create a covers band to enhance her performance experience around Christchurch city, whilst writing and performing her original music to the side. She has since played local festivals, radio stations, clubs/bars and musical productions; with upcoming Spaced Out Sessions concerts being held at Grater Goods with 212 Music Group.

Deciding to breathe technical life into her own music, she reached out to popular music producers Devin Abrams and Simon Gooding, last year, whom both collaborated on her first single, Midnight, which is due to be released this May. Described as “super dope” by Tiki Taane and Big Sima, Midnight tells a tale of tragedy and the awareness of how isolated one can feel in times of uncertainty. This hauntingly, majestic piece was written during the COVID-16 lockdown period.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Michèle Ducray

Releases

There are no releases to display for Michèle Ducray.

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Eden Iris - Single Review: Young Guest Feat. Lucie Hill
17 Nov 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I have followed Eden Iris since her (albeit brief) appearance on NZ X Factor in 2013, and I admire the way she has carved out her own path musically since then and created herself a life with music and songwriting well and truly at the heart of it. Proving she never really needed that glorified karaoke contest anyway!
Read More...
Gig Review: Fur Patrol @ San Fran, Wellington - 27/08/2022
29 Aug 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I finally arrived at San Fran just on 8pm, a little grumpy after spending 30+ minutes driving around trying to find a park in Wellington city, where, like many other cities around New Zealand, the councils have decided to eliminate as many parking spaces as possible with bollards, flower pots, bus stops, loading zones, road works, or just by erecting scaffolding barriers for no apparent reason!! The venue was wall-to-wall full, and I marveled that all these people had managed to find parking spaces also.
Read More...
Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926
19 Jul 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That
25 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote.
Read More...
Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem