8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube

11 Feb 2022 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.” And never before have I heard an electric guitar sound like the actual surface of the water. The song beautifully captures the dream and it’s visual imagery by some kind of synesthetic magic.

With lyrics in French, English and Bulgarian, and an Eastern flavour in the vocal melodies and techniques, I was completely transported by this music and her unique style. True to TUI MAMAKi’s dream, music truly is the universal language and can communicate so much, even when the lyrics are in another language.

Then I realised that this EP is kind-of a big deal, as it was created by Conrad Wedde (The Phoenix Foundation) who hosted, recorded & produced the tracks, and was mixed & mastered by Lee Prebble (Surgery). It is a beautiful collection of music, with, I believe, some of the songs pre-written while others described as Traditional / Improvised. It has been beautifully captured in its raw and authentic style.

TUi MAMAKi was born in France and raised in Aotearoa/NZ and has lived in Bulgaria. She has travelled to the Balkans, India and Pay Basque in order to study traditional vocal techniques, and these influences certainly shine through in her original compositions and delivery of them. Her vocal style is truly captivating.

She released her solo album Fly in 2018 and has released 3 albums in total with The Mamaku Project. TUi MAMAKi has also collaborated with Kottarashky (BG) and Piers Faccini (UK/FR) and founded the Balkan inspired acapella trio ACAPOLLiNATIONS. She was set to perform at WOMAD this year but sadly that has had to have been cancelled.

I would love to see this amazing artist perform live, as this EP is something quite different and beautiful, and of such a unique calibre. If you love international flavours and being transported to far-away times and places, then you will absolutely love this artist and album too.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About TUi MAMAKi

Haunting, spirited vocals over hypnotic odd-meter grooves. A meeting of delicacy and power. Original compositions inspired by Tui Mamaki's love affair with Bulgaria, spliced with traditional song, these are stories of love, harvest, death & transcendence.

Tui Mamaki is a vocal explorer, performer, composer/arranger, born in France, raised in Aotearoa/NZ and often residing in Bulgaria. She can thank her musically adventurous troubadour family for giving her a taste for sounds from far-away places. In following her voice, she has travelled to Pay Basque, India and the Balkans to study traditional vocal techniques and repertoire.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for TUi MAMAKi

Releases

A L'Aube
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Fly
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Eden Iris - Single Review: Young Guest Feat. Lucie Hill
17 Nov 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I have followed Eden Iris since her (albeit brief) appearance on NZ X Factor in 2013, and I admire the way she has carved out her own path musically since then and created herself a life with music and songwriting well and truly at the heart of it. Proving she never really needed that glorified karaoke contest anyway!
Read More...
Gig Review: Fur Patrol @ San Fran, Wellington - 27/08/2022
29 Aug 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I finally arrived at San Fran just on 8pm, a little grumpy after spending 30+ minutes driving around trying to find a park in Wellington city, where, like many other cities around New Zealand, the councils have decided to eliminate as many parking spaces as possible with bollards, flower pots, bus stops, loading zones, road works, or just by erecting scaffolding barriers for no apparent reason!! The venue was wall-to-wall full, and I marveled that all these people had managed to find parking spaces also.
Read More...
Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926
19 Jul 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That
25 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote.
Read More...
Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michèle Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem