25 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube

11 Feb 2022 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.” And never before have I heard an electric guitar sound like the actual surface of the water. The song beautifully captures the dream and it’s visual imagery by some kind of synesthetic magic.

With lyrics in French, English and Bulgarian, and an Eastern flavour in the vocal melodies and techniques, I was completely transported by this music and her unique style. True to TUI MAMAKi’s dream, music truly is the universal language and can communicate so much, even when the lyrics are in another language.

Then I realised that this EP is kind-of a big deal, as it was created by Conrad Wedde (The Phoenix Foundation) who hosted, recorded & produced the tracks, and was mixed & mastered by Lee Prebble (Surgery). It is a beautiful collection of music, with, I believe, some of the songs pre-written while others described as Traditional / Improvised. It has been beautifully captured in its raw and authentic style.

TUi MAMAKi was born in France and raised in Aotearoa/NZ and has lived in Bulgaria. She has travelled to the Balkans, India and Pay Basque in order to study traditional vocal techniques, and these influences certainly shine through in her original compositions and delivery of them. Her vocal style is truly captivating.

She released her solo album Fly in 2018 and has released 3 albums in total with The Mamaku Project. TUi MAMAKi has also collaborated with Kottarashky (BG) and Piers Faccini (UK/FR) and founded the Balkan inspired acapella trio ACAPOLLiNATIONS. She was set to perform at WOMAD this year but sadly that has had to have been cancelled.

I would love to see this amazing artist perform live, as this EP is something quite different and beautiful, and of such a unique calibre. If you love international flavours and being transported to far-away times and places, then you will absolutely love this artist and album too.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About TUi MAMAKi

Haunting, spirited vocals over hypnotic odd-meter grooves. A meeting of delicacy and power. Original compositions inspired by Tui Mamaki's love affair with Bulgaria, spliced with traditional song, these are stories of love, harvest, death & transcendence.

Tui Mamaki is a vocal explorer, performer, composer/arranger, born in France, raised in Aotearoa/NZ and often residing in Bulgaria. She can thank her musically adventurous troubadour family for giving her a taste for sounds from far-away places. In following her voice, she has travelled to Pay Basque, India and the Balkans to study traditional vocal techniques and repertoire.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for TUi MAMAKi

Releases

A L'Aube
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Fly
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Thomas Powers - Album Review: A Tyrant Crying In Private
01 Jun 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This stunning 14-track debut solo album from Thomas Powers, of The Naked and Famous fame; A Tyrant Crying in Private is intense yet delicate, holding sadness and beauty in equal measure, deliciously gorgeous in all its glitched and distorted goodness. Parts of the album feel very heavy emotionally, particularly the neo-classical instrumental pieces, which have a vast cinematic effect.
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Album Review: A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac
25 Apr 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
If I could choose one word to sum up Ha The Unclear’s recent album release I would have to go with the word “inspiring”. And if I could throw a few more together in a kind of haphazard stream-of-consciousness way, I would add that A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac is oozing with creativity, quirky humour, plumbing the depths of musical understanding, and coming back up to the surface with a gift - permission to be one’s authentic self.
Read More...
SNRXG - EP Review: True Story
06 Nov 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Huntly born and raised artist SNRXG keeps the quality tracks coming with this 6-track EP True Story. Collaborating with top-notch local talent, the production on all of these tracks is mint.
Read More...
Phorrest - EP Review: On My Way
19 Sep 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Tuning into the new EP from Auckland hip hop artist Phorrest, the intro track does well to set the scene for the rest of the EP. But wait, why is the title track of the EP in brackets and labeled Intro (On My Way!
Read More...
day13n - Single Review: PA1N x SAG3
11 Jul 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Listening to Day13n’s new single PA1N x SAG3 is the stuff of nightmares, with a dark and edgy musicality underpinning the intensely whisper-screamed lyrics. The song is divided into two halves, which nicely illustrates the forces of duality that are at play in the mind of the artist.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Seem Alright
21 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This week Will McClean releases Seem Alright, the second track from his upcoming album Don’t Forget To Breathe, alongside an accompanying video clip. Seem Alright is a punchy upbeat jazz-funk hip-hop track that has been nicely arranged, with a dash of clarinet, strings, and a sampled jazz vocal for the chorus.
Read More...
Jaqualyn Taimana Williams - EP Review: Guns of Dialogue
20 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Successful children’s music creator Jaqualyn Taimana Williams has recently released a 5-track EP called Guns of Dialogue to follow up her 2019 multi-genre album Statues of Liberty. Guns of Dialogue has a great rock vibe overall, with a fusion of various other elements woven throughout its tracks.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Meow, Wellington - 28/05/2023
30 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
It’s been a good while since I’ve been to a gig at Meow, Wellington, so the first thing I do is weave my way through the growing crowd to get a good look at the size and layout of the stage. It’s nicely raised and fairly spacious, more spacious than I remembered actually!
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem