6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fragile Colours - Album Review: Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato's Cave)

14 Dec 2021 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

Studio project Fragile Colours released their second album Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato’s Cave) in June 2021, this time featuring Kamaea Harry on vocals. Nine out of the 10 tracks on the album were penned by Tim Julian specifically with Kamaea’s voice in mind after she sang most of the backing vocals on the previous album Southern Utopia.

The song written by Kamaea is the ninth track on the album; a beautiful ballad called Begin Again, penned while she was abroad in France. Tim’s son Joe Julian provided all of the drum tracks, and Sean Bodley’s acoustic and electric guitar playing appeared on several of the songs. Percussion, bass, keyboards and the remaining guitars are courtesy of Tim Julian.

I got lost in this album, it was timeless and sound-scapey and interesting, and it definitely took me on a journey. I don’t often listen to albums from start to finish in these modern-music-media times, so I’m glad I got the opportunity to review this one, and fully enjoy it in its entirety.

Dreamy and whimsical Calling To You From Yesterday opens the album with a laid-back pop vibe. Described as “a look at the kiwi overseas experience and homesickness” it really does have a ‘travelling’ feel to it. I can imagine it accompanied by a clip full of scenes from around the world, on trains and planes, surrounded by crowds of people but feeling that sense of longing for home and loved ones.

The title track Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato’s Cave) is a funky pop number with a bass and synth-driven intro and an upbeat catchy chorus. It’s cool, the mix of genres found on this album, I enjoy that sort of variety in music, both in listening and writing. The bridge is a total departure from the rest of the song, which takes you to some atmospheric, ethereal place, (perhaps inside Plato’s Cave itself) before firing back up into the chorus again to finish. It does exactly what a good bridge should do: takes you somewhere different entirely so that you almost forget, which makes that return to the song all the more satisfying.

I LOVE the intro on Easter so much! A beautiful song and one of my favourites on the album, the other favourite being Free which has quite a theatrical feel to it, mainly piano and vocally driven, and peppered with some unusual twists and turns.

The album production is nicely done and Kamaea’s voice is lovely and sweet. It was a very calming and soothing album on the whole, and there are some interesting flavours sprinkled throughout. I enjoyed the spiritual aspect of some of the themes such as Easter, Infinite Longing, and I AM, but there was nothing cliché or “churchy” about the music itself. In fact, I found it quite quirky and unusual at times.

A project that's been in the making since 2016, (and the previous album was started in the late 80's and included the building of a recording studio!) Julian is clearly a musician who is determined, persistent and patient with his projects, and ends up with a stellar result. Congrats and well done to the whole team!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Fragile Colours

Fragile Colours is a studio only project that began life in the late 1980's - a musical collaboration between Tim Julian and Fred Renata (now an acclaimed cinematographer). The first album Southern Utopia was written during this time, but circumstances dictated that it would not be finished until 2015 when Tim had finished building The Colour Field Recording Studio and found musicians to work with.

The album was well received and subsequently Tim set out to finish a 2nd album, Dancing With The Shadow's (In Plato's Cave), this album features the voice of Kamaea Harry with 9 of the 10 tracks penned by Tim and a beautiful ballad from Kamaea. Work is now progressing on completing a third album of instrumental music.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fragile Colours

Releases

Southern Utopia
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Macho Macho - Single Review: Blink
01 Feb 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Wow, I have to say the new single Blink from Macho Macho is extremely impressive! I was hooked right from the very first listen.
Read More...
Rachel Leo - Single Review: Last Call
09 Dec 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Building on her initial successes; bursting onto the 2021 pop music scene with her well-received single Conversation, followed by her stonking 2022 collaboration Dice with Lee Mvtthews, Rachel Leo keeps the ball rolling in the right direction with her latest single release Last Call.Opening with a romantic vintage-feel EQ sweep, Last Call is a bop with attitude.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Single Review: Young Guest Feat. Lucie Hill
17 Nov 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I have followed Eden Iris since her (albeit brief) appearance on NZ X Factor in 2013, and I admire the way she has carved out her own path musically since then and created herself a life with music and songwriting well and truly at the heart of it. Proving she never really needed that glorified karaoke contest anyway!
Read More...
Gig Review: Fur Patrol @ San Fran, Wellington - 27/08/2022
29 Aug 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I finally arrived at San Fran just on 8pm, a little grumpy after spending 30+ minutes driving around trying to find a park in Wellington city, where, like many other cities around New Zealand, the councils have decided to eliminate as many parking spaces as possible with bollards, flower pots, bus stops, loading zones, road works, or just by erecting scaffolding barriers for no apparent reason!! The venue was wall-to-wall full, and I marveled that all these people had managed to find parking spaces also.
Read More...
Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926
19 Jul 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That
25 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote.
Read More...
Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem