17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fragile Colours - Album Review: Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato's Cave)

14 Dec 2021 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

Studio project Fragile Colours released their second album Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato’s Cave) in June 2021, this time featuring Kamaea Harry on vocals. Nine out of the 10 tracks on the album were penned by Tim Julian specifically with Kamaea’s voice in mind after she sang most of the backing vocals on the previous album Southern Utopia.

The song written by Kamaea is the ninth track on the album; a beautiful ballad called Begin Again, penned while she was abroad in France. Tim’s son Joe Julian provided all of the drum tracks, and Sean Bodley’s acoustic and electric guitar playing appeared on several of the songs. Percussion, bass, keyboards and the remaining guitars are courtesy of Tim Julian.

I got lost in this album, it was timeless and sound-scapey and interesting, and it definitely took me on a journey. I don’t often listen to albums from start to finish in these modern-music-media times, so I’m glad I got the opportunity to review this one, and fully enjoy it in its entirety.

Dreamy and whimsical Calling To You From Yesterday opens the album with a laid-back pop vibe. Described as “a look at the kiwi overseas experience and homesickness” it really does have a ‘travelling’ feel to it. I can imagine it accompanied by a clip full of scenes from around the world, on trains and planes, surrounded by crowds of people but feeling that sense of longing for home and loved ones.

The title track Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato’s Cave) is a funky pop number with a bass and synth-driven intro and an upbeat catchy chorus. It’s cool, the mix of genres found on this album, I enjoy that sort of variety in music, both in listening and writing. The bridge is a total departure from the rest of the song, which takes you to some atmospheric, ethereal place, (perhaps inside Plato’s Cave itself) before firing back up into the chorus again to finish. It does exactly what a good bridge should do: takes you somewhere different entirely so that you almost forget, which makes that return to the song all the more satisfying.

I LOVE the intro on Easter so much! A beautiful song and one of my favourites on the album, the other favourite being Free which has quite a theatrical feel to it, mainly piano and vocally driven, and peppered with some unusual twists and turns.

The album production is nicely done and Kamaea’s voice is lovely and sweet. It was a very calming and soothing album on the whole, and there are some interesting flavours sprinkled throughout. I enjoyed the spiritual aspect of some of the themes such as Easter, Infinite Longing, and I AM, but there was nothing cliché or “churchy” about the music itself. In fact, I found it quite quirky and unusual at times.

A project that's been in the making since 2016, (and the previous album was started in the late 80's and included the building of a recording studio!) Julian is clearly a musician who is determined, persistent and patient with his projects, and ends up with a stellar result. Congrats and well done to the whole team!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Fragile Colours

Fragile Colours is a studio only project that began life in the late 1980's - a musical collaboration between Tim Julian and Fred Renata (now an acclaimed cinematographer). The first album Southern Utopia was written during this time, but circumstances dictated that it would not be finished until 2015 when Tim had finished building The Colour Field Recording Studio and found musicians to work with.

The album was well received and subsequently Tim set out to finish a 2nd album, Dancing With The Shadow's (In Plato's Cave), this album features the voice of Kamaea Harry with 9 of the 10 tracks penned by Tim and a beautiful ballad from Kamaea. Work is now progressing on completing a third album of instrumental music.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fragile Colours

Releases

Southern Utopia
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926
19 Jul 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That
25 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote.
Read More...
Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michele Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
Wubchaser - EP Review: Signal to Noise
29 Dec 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Wubchaser is the electronic music project of Auckland-based sound engineer and producer Luke Finlay of Primal Mastering. Hailing from the alternative music scene and having previously played in metal bands, Finlay has more recently been doing live sound at big events such as RnV, Shipwrecked, Aum, and Splore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem