29 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will McClean - EP Review: Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery

06 Nov 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery EP is a hat tip to live hip-hop. The band is super tight with wonderful guitar licks working wonderfully over top of the rhythm section. The live, clean and almost dry sounding (no reverb) of Will McClean rhymes is wonderfully mixed here. It offers the listener a chance to just sit back and soak up all the magic that appears here. Like the keys solo during Young Jedi, where Will steps right back and lets the music do the talking, that is tasty.

To add to that, Will's flow feels real and authentic, it would appeal to a large audience. I can't help but notice a little influence from Tom of Home Brew, one of my favourite NZ hip-hop artists. Will isn't afraid to put his thoughts on the tracks, and knows exactly when to just back off and let the music finish what his vocal starts. Again this is noted on It Is What It Is, when Will speaks about life and the struggles we face but that he uses his words as paint to illustrate his feelings. "It is just businesses playing us like instruments." Nice line. The guitar melody after his verse here is so wonderful, the bass holding it down until we get to where the keys come in and take over, the dynamics soft in order to build up. These are signs that Will and The Zooks have a really good idea about how to use music as a way to just let go and go with the flow. This song would be incredible live.

Straight after this though, we pick up with a more upbeat guitar for the single Thinking Of You, his track about climate change, a cry for help, a message for the future generations. Again, more tasty guitar solos to boot and a solid rhythm section.

Finishing the EP is the grooving half time feel of Still. A perfect way to finish the EP. There's lots to like here. Just pop some headphones on and go listen. Incredible.

Easily one of the best hip-hop EPs I have heard in ages. Great live production and sound. The performances are fantastic. Absolutely check this one out.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Will McClean

Will McClean is a Hip-Hop artist from Wellington, New Zealand.

Will McClean’s insightful lyricism is mellow but hard hitting; taking time to say what matters;
and by taking a look through his discography you’ll find a blend of vulnerable raps with uplifting aspirations, set against smooth sample-based instrumentals; mixed in with the occasional heavier hip-hop track.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will McClean

Releases

Live At The Surgery
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Can't Sleep, I'm Dreaming
Year: 2020
Type: Album
The Calm Before The Now
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem