19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am

11 Oct 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.C.K (lyrics, vocals). The track, also features Wellington-based Blair Clarke on saxophone (Raw Collective, Melting Faces).

Opening with a sound bite that introduces you to the nature of the title of the track, the song moves quickly into a really psychedelic sound. The beat sways back and forth with the placement of the snare causing that to happen. The bass growls and the sax takes the main melody. But even then, it has been played with and changed up a bit sonically to create something otherworldly at times.

During the halfway point everything drops out except the synth which sits there haunting and giving off an uncomfortable feel. Add to that the vocal provided by F.C.K and you get this very interesting track that has character to it. It almost captures the insanity of the pandemic, if you don't mind me saying. The deadpan delivery, the lyrics, the lyric video with its almost hypnotic qualities... it works well and sets itself apart from a lot of other music that is out there right now.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Ms.Take

Ms.Take is the solo project of established Kirikiriroa-based musician Lora Thompson (Cheshire Grimm, Empress, Nothing but Hole, Skinny Hobos).

The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official Ms.Take single, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and was a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.C.K (lyrics, vocals). The track, also featuring Wellington-based Blair Clarke on saxophone (Raw Collective, Melting Faces), is set for an online release with a lyric video, also made by Thompson in the current lockdown, September 20th 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ms.Take

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ms.Take.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem