5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am

11 Oct 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.C.K (lyrics, vocals). The track, also features Wellington-based Blair Clarke on saxophone (Raw Collective, Melting Faces).

Opening with a sound bite that introduces you to the nature of the title of the track, the song moves quickly into a really psychedelic sound. The beat sways back and forth with the placement of the snare causing that to happen. The bass growls and the sax takes the main melody. But even then, it has been played with and changed up a bit sonically to create something otherworldly at times.

During the halfway point everything drops out except the synth which sits there haunting and giving off an uncomfortable feel. Add to that the vocal provided by F.C.K and you get this very interesting track that has character to it. It almost captures the insanity of the pandemic, if you don't mind me saying. The deadpan delivery, the lyrics, the lyric video with its almost hypnotic qualities... it works well and sets itself apart from a lot of other music that is out there right now.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Ms.Take

Ms.Take is the solo project of established Kirikiriroa-based musician Lora Thompson (Cheshire Grimm, Empress, Nothing but Hole, Skinny Hobos).

The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official Ms.Take single, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and was a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.C.K (lyrics, vocals). The track, also featuring Wellington-based Blair Clarke on saxophone (Raw Collective, Melting Faces), is set for an online release with a lyric video, also made by Thompson in the current lockdown, September 20th 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ms.Take

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ms.Take.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem