4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz

15 Sep 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Oh man. I like this. From the get go with the sampled sounding guitar that is looped, and paired with the low down lo-fi kind of bass that rumbles, an old school type of drum sound but in half time, I feel this. It's a tip of the hat to a lot of incredible rap and hip-hop that has come through before.

I want to be honest here and say that there is a Kendrick Lamar type production here, even with the songwriting. It sounds absolutely incredible on my speakers. The cadence changes throughout, the added voice effects or mimicking someone else... its production that speaks for itself. It gives credibility to BrokeBoi Ace by showing how much he loves his craft.

The lyrics, the delivery of it and just the whole package... I am a big fan. This is easily one of the best hip-hop tracks I have heard come out from New Zealand. It will appeal to a lot of fans of those who like To Pimp A Butterfly from Kendrick. Honestly, that is the one reference I feel best describes how good this is, to my ears.

I look forward to hearing more of what BrokeBoi Ace has to offer. This track is stellar!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About BrokeBoi Ace

BrokeBoi Ace is an aspiring rap artist hailing out of the Westside of Auckland. Born and raised in Avondale, the young Polynesian artist proves to be a raw and uncut individual with a personality that has much to say about how we live with the norms of society.

Being a proud member of Young and Slept On (better known as Y$O), the fast rising music collective with the likes of Sam V, Aidan Fine and Jarna, BrokeBoi Ace is a unique addition to the crew that aims to take over the industry one song at a time.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for BrokeBoi Ace

Releases

There are no releases to display for BrokeBoi Ace.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem