18 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz

15 Sep 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Oh man. I like this. From the get go with the sampled sounding guitar that is looped, and paired with the low down lo-fi kind of bass that rumbles, an old school type of drum sound but in half time, I feel this. It's a tip of the hat to a lot of incredible rap and hip-hop that has come through before.

I want to be honest here and say that there is a Kendrick Lamar type production here, even with the songwriting. It sounds absolutely incredible on my speakers. The cadence changes throughout, the added voice effects or mimicking someone else... its production that speaks for itself. It gives credibility to BrokeBoi Ace by showing how much he loves his craft.

The lyrics, the delivery of it and just the whole package... I am a big fan. This is easily one of the best hip-hop tracks I have heard come out from New Zealand. It will appeal to a lot of fans of those who like To Pimp A Butterfly from Kendrick. Honestly, that is the one reference I feel best describes how good this is, to my ears.

I look forward to hearing more of what BrokeBoi Ace has to offer. This track is stellar!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About BrokeBoi Ace

BrokeBoi Ace is an aspiring rap artist hailing out of the Westside of Auckland. Born and raised in Avondale, the young Polynesian artist proves to be a raw and uncut individual with a personality that has much to say about how we live with the norms of society.

Being a proud member of Young and Slept On (better known as Y$O), the fast rising music collective with the likes of Sam V, Aidan Fine and Jarna, BrokeBoi Ace is a unique addition to the crew that aims to take over the industry one song at a time.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for BrokeBoi Ace

Releases

There are no releases to display for BrokeBoi Ace.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • GIRLS WANT GIRLS
    Drake feat. Lil Baby
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
  • CHAMPAGNE POETRY
    Drake
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WAY 2 SEXY
    Drake, Future And Young Thug
  • HURRICANE
    Kanye West
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem