2 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Human Kind - Single Review: Ready To Live

27 Aug 2021 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth
Ready To Live is a beautiful inspirational track from The Human Kind; a collective with a focus on health and wellbeing. The song features a diverse array of instrumentation including strings, flute, synths, and something that sounds to me like maybe a Gudok or similar? It brings to mind a Beats Antique track called Three Sisters which employs the ancient 3-stringed instrument, and creates the same kind of cultural/spiritual vibe; an opus that harkens back to man’s earthly origins from ancient beginnings, and calls to an awakening of our spiritual nature and deeper consciousness.


The lead vocals have been beautifully recorded to capture all of the subtleties of depth and breathiness in the vocal tone. The melodies are strong yet delicate and give a sense of focus and purpose. A deeper male voice enters the mix with a motivational chant, further urging the call to action. The female melody lines are later layered in counterpoint with each other towards the end of the song, which gives a really effective result.

With links to the Mental Health Foundation on their website, and the below mission statement, it’s clear The Human Kind have a purpose and a passion for the support and edification of others:

“The Human Kind, are a creative social enterprise that creates and performs music, songs and visual showcases to raise awareness in support of organisations that promote mental health, wellbeing and empowerment of individuals in Aotearoa.”

Ready To Live has been released on Spotify and Soundcloud. However, I understand the focus will be on the live performances as the main way for people to enjoy the full immersive audio/visual experience, and receive the full benefit of the message they are seeking to convey.

A series of live performances are planned around Auckland for Mental Health Awareness Week from 27th Sept to 3rd October 2021. Let’s hope these are able to go ahead as planned! Looking forward to catching one if and when they bring the live show to Wellington! 

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Human Kind

The Human Kind, believe in the holistic principles of Kotahitanga and Whanaungatanga, the interconnectedness of all things without discrimination.

Encompassing these principles, our vision combines music and images in events that bring people together, connect with their emotions in an immersive, interactive, four dimensional way through sight, sound, space and time.

The music and images showcased in our events also aim to promote the four aspects of wellbeing expressed in Hauora; physical, mental/emotional, social and spiritual.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Human Kind

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Human Kind.

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Gig Review: Fur Patrol @ San Fran, Wellington - 27/08/2022
29 Aug 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I finally arrived at San Fran just on 8pm, a little grumpy after spending 30+ minutes driving around trying to find a park in Wellington city, where, like many other cities around New Zealand, the councils have decided to eliminate as many parking spaces as possible with bollards, flower pots, bus stops, loading zones, road works, or just by erecting scaffolding barriers for no apparent reason!! The venue was wall-to-wall full, and I marveled that all these people had managed to find parking spaces also.
Read More...
Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926
19 Jul 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That
25 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote.
Read More...
Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michele Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem