19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mako Road - Album Review: Stranger Days

12 Aug 2021 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

4-piece indie rock band Mako Road are back once again, this time with their first full-length album. Their sound is an interesting blend of indie and funk, layered with reverb and delay-heavy guitars, creating that classic kiwi “dub” feel, but with a live-jammed garage-band twist.

Kicking the album off is the lush groove of Go to Bed; a track that first eases you into it and makes you feel totally comfortable, before switching things up when it picks up the pace. There is a beautiful guitar motif that sounds very much like Chris Isaac’s Wicked Game, before the transition into the more upbeat end of the song, which is really well done. The funky bassline and wah pedal totally take it from there, giving the track some real forward movement and a travelling feeling.

In Surfing on Mars I can hear the echoes of the band’s Christchurch roots; progressive heavy funk grooves over a disco beat, which remind me of the likes of AHoriBuzz; that loose-but-tight live-jammed sound. With danceable tracks like this, it’s easy to understand why they are festival favourites! Helicopter is another funky dance track, and I’m getting a definite new-wave vibe from this one, which works.

Peeling back the pace comes Velvet Pinata. I love the creative use of accents in this track, and the simple literal bass lines that drive the song along. But this song goes somewhere more surprising and interesting in the chorus, bringing a more clean and assertive sound to the fore. I would have liked to hear more of this kind of clarity, to showcase the vocal a bit more.

The album is perhaps a little reverb-heavy for my liking on the whole, but I’m guessing that is deliberately the guitar sound they are going for; that open-air live feel. I was impressed with the guitar work on the whole album, from Don’t Keep Me Waiting, with its clever show-reel ending, to Lost My Tongue which throws in some great bass work and a solo for good measure. I get big Dire Straits energy from Stranger Days, a track which did truly put me on the lazy buzz.

Finishing the album off with a bang is Anywhere You’d Like To Go; a feel-good party track that has great dynamics and is very catchy. The ending is sure to have the crowd whipped into a frenzy, with its multiple key changes and tempo shift winding up to a climactic finish. I imagine this song would be a lot of fun to play live!

Mako Road are currently touring the album around New Zealand and Australia (covid-willing!) through August and September, so keep an eye out for them coming your way. This hard-working band have built themselves a huge fan base, and this album puts eight more arrows in their quiver which I’m sure will make their mark!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mako Road

Indie pop-rock outfit Mako Road from Christchurch, recently surfaced onto the NZ music scene with a string of self-produced releases. Their debut track The Sun Comes Up made top 5 in the NZ and AUS Spotify Viral 50's, and recently ticket over 1 million Spotify streams.

Influenced by good times and summer grooves, Mako Road sets the vibe for sun season and this shines through in their electric live set. Following a busy 2018 playing sold out shows around New Zealand, their next EP Local Safari will be released November 30, with an extensive Australasian tour to follow.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mako Road

Releases

Stranger Days
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michele Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
Wubchaser - EP Review: Signal to Noise
29 Dec 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Wubchaser is the electronic music project of Auckland-based sound engineer and producer Luke Finlay of Primal Mastering. Hailing from the alternative music scene and having previously played in metal bands, Finlay has more recently been doing live sound at big events such as RnV, Shipwrecked, Aum, and Splore.
Read More...
Fragile Colours - Album Review: Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato's Cave)
14 Dec 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Studio project Fragile Colours released their second album Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato’s Cave) in June 2021, this time featuring Kamaea Harry on vocals. Nine out of the 10 tracks on the album were penned by Tim Julian specifically with Kamaea’s voice in mind after she sang most of the backing vocals on the previous album Southern Utopia.
Read More...
Fathom - Single Review: Mother Star
26 Nov 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Mother Star is the debut single that introduces Fathom, solo project of Auckland-based Nancy Howie, to the world, with an extravagant and emphatic throwing back of the curtains, and a celebratory sense of letting the sun shine in. I suspect the incredibly creative and resourceful Howie has single-handedly ushered in the Age of Aquarius with this wholesome and uplifting alt-folk anthem.
Read More...
Cloudy - Single Review: Worth It
25 Nov 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Kiwi-Austrian artist Cloudy’s new single Worth It ushers in a new sound and a new era for the Auckland-based singer/songwriter. Now accompanied by a full band, the vibe and the energy of the material has been lifted, and this has opened up exciting new songwriting territory for Claudia Paine and her upcoming EP.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem