22 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mako Road - Album Review: Stranger Days

12 Aug 2021 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

4-piece indie rock band Mako Road are back once again, this time with their first full-length album. Their sound is an interesting blend of indie and funk, layered with reverb and delay-heavy guitars, creating that classic kiwi “dub” feel, but with a live-jammed garage-band twist.

Kicking the album off is the lush groove of Go to Bed; a track that first eases you into it and makes you feel totally comfortable, before switching things up when it picks up the pace. There is a beautiful guitar motif that sounds very much like Chris Isaac’s Wicked Game, before the transition into the more upbeat end of the song, which is really well done. The funky bassline and wah pedal totally take it from there, giving the track some real forward movement and a travelling feeling.

In Surfing on Mars I can hear the echoes of the band’s Christchurch roots; progressive heavy funk grooves over a disco beat, which remind me of the likes of AHoriBuzz; that loose-but-tight live-jammed sound. With danceable tracks like this, it’s easy to understand why they are festival favourites! Helicopter is another funky dance track, and I’m getting a definite new-wave vibe from this one, which works.

Peeling back the pace comes Velvet Pinata. I love the creative use of accents in this track, and the simple literal bass lines that drive the song along. But this song goes somewhere more surprising and interesting in the chorus, bringing a more clean and assertive sound to the fore. I would have liked to hear more of this kind of clarity, to showcase the vocal a bit more.

The album is perhaps a little reverb-heavy for my liking on the whole, but I’m guessing that is deliberately the guitar sound they are going for; that open-air live feel. I was impressed with the guitar work on the whole album, from Don’t Keep Me Waiting, with its clever show-reel ending, to Lost My Tongue which throws in some great bass work and a solo for good measure. I get big Dire Straits energy from Stranger Days, a track which did truly put me on the lazy buzz.

Finishing the album off with a bang is Anywhere You’d Like To Go; a feel-good party track that has great dynamics and is very catchy. The ending is sure to have the crowd whipped into a frenzy, with its multiple key changes and tempo shift winding up to a climactic finish. I imagine this song would be a lot of fun to play live!

Mako Road are currently touring the album around New Zealand and Australia (covid-willing!) through August and September, so keep an eye out for them coming your way. This hard-working band have built themselves a huge fan base, and this album puts eight more arrows in their quiver which I’m sure will make their mark!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mako Road

Indie pop-rock outfit Mako Road from Christchurch, recently surfaced onto the NZ music scene with a string of self-produced releases. Their debut track The Sun Comes Up made top 5 in the NZ and AUS Spotify Viral 50's, and recently ticket over 1 million Spotify streams.

Influenced by good times and summer grooves, Mako Road sets the vibe for sun season and this shines through in their electric live set. Following a busy 2018 playing sold out shows around New Zealand, their next EP Local Safari will be released November 30, with an extensive Australasian tour to follow.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mako Road

Releases

Stranger Days
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Thomas Powers - Album Review: A Tyrant Crying In Private
01 Jun 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This stunning 14-track debut solo album from Thomas Powers, of The Naked and Famous fame; A Tyrant Crying in Private is intense yet delicate, holding sadness and beauty in equal measure, deliciously gorgeous in all its glitched and distorted goodness. Parts of the album feel very heavy emotionally, particularly the neo-classical instrumental pieces, which have a vast cinematic effect.
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Album Review: A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac
25 Apr 2024 // by Cathy Elizabeth
If I could choose one word to sum up Ha The Unclear’s recent album release I would have to go with the word “inspiring”. And if I could throw a few more together in a kind of haphazard stream-of-consciousness way, I would add that A Kingdom In A Cul-De-Sac is oozing with creativity, quirky humour, plumbing the depths of musical understanding, and coming back up to the surface with a gift - permission to be one’s authentic self.
Read More...
SNRXG - EP Review: True Story
06 Nov 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Huntly born and raised artist SNRXG keeps the quality tracks coming with this 6-track EP True Story. Collaborating with top-notch local talent, the production on all of these tracks is mint.
Read More...
Phorrest - EP Review: On My Way
19 Sep 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Tuning into the new EP from Auckland hip hop artist Phorrest, the intro track does well to set the scene for the rest of the EP. But wait, why is the title track of the EP in brackets and labeled Intro (On My Way!
Read More...
day13n - Single Review: PA1N x SAG3
11 Jul 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Listening to Day13n’s new single PA1N x SAG3 is the stuff of nightmares, with a dark and edgy musicality underpinning the intensely whisper-screamed lyrics. The song is divided into two halves, which nicely illustrates the forces of duality that are at play in the mind of the artist.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Seem Alright
21 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This week Will McClean releases Seem Alright, the second track from his upcoming album Don’t Forget To Breathe, alongside an accompanying video clip. Seem Alright is a punchy upbeat jazz-funk hip-hop track that has been nicely arranged, with a dash of clarinet, strings, and a sampled jazz vocal for the chorus.
Read More...
Jaqualyn Taimana Williams - EP Review: Guns of Dialogue
20 Jun 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Successful children’s music creator Jaqualyn Taimana Williams has recently released a 5-track EP called Guns of Dialogue to follow up her 2019 multi-genre album Statues of Liberty. Guns of Dialogue has a great rock vibe overall, with a fusion of various other elements woven throughout its tracks.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Meow, Wellington - 28/05/2023
30 May 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
It’s been a good while since I’ve been to a gig at Meow, Wellington, so the first thing I do is weave my way through the growing crowd to get a good look at the size and layout of the stage. It’s nicely raised and fairly spacious, more spacious than I remembered actually!
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem